We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

another hotel well situated across the road from gateway shopping centre. rooms are small but comfortable, bathroom needs more lighting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 664 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Garden Court, Umhalanga is a great palce to stay with a family. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was ideal with plenty of choice. The pool is small and heated, almost too heated! The hotel is not far from King Shaka airport and is a short drive from the sea front and a 20-25 min drive to central Durban. Gateway Mall, with its shops, restaurants and entertainment centre is a 5 min walk from the hotel. There is a car park situated under the hotel which was free of charge for hotel guests and was very convienient. Overall the hotel staff were friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children and need 2 rooms ask for room numbers 315 and 317. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveToTravel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are tastefully decorated, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom facilities are excellent and the amenities offered are great. Breakfast was a sumptuous affair and the convenience of this hotel with its proximity to the airport (I arrived in at the King Shaka airport in the evening) and to Gateway Mall and Umhlanga Rocks more than makes up for the lack of view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Southern Sun’s Garden Court Umhlanga, is the perfect place to stay if you are heading for KZN's north coast, for a break.

The Hotel is within walking distance to the famous Gateway Mall, which hosts an array of shops and restaurants, movie etc.

Apart from this, it suited our needs insofar as it was in the middle of Durban’s beachfront and Ballito Bay, which we frequented. It is positioned behind the Sharks Board and along a quiet street, thereby affording one a good peaceful night’s sleep. No traffic noises or rowdy parties from the neighbours. We had a room with a sea view and this was special for us.

What is worth mentioning is the staff – we stayed for 5 nights and this over the Easter weekend and it was very busy as you can imagine, yet the staff were fantastic. Management at Garden Court have the right recipe, which is carried through to their staff. Breakfast was a treat each day and the Supervision on the floor was par excellence.

Room Tip: Try for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel and from a business traveller perspective it fitted the bill nicely. It is well situated, not far from the freeway and the airport and this was especially relevant as I had flown in from Johannesburg and wanted something close by to where I was presenting. There are plenty of restaurants in close proximity. The room was bright, airy and user-friendly. I would recommend this as a good base for people doing business in the Umhlanga area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel after a traumatic day that involved my toddler son being admitted to Umhlangha hospital. My husband stayed with the child overnight and I went to find a hotel to stay in. I only checked in after 8pm but the staff where so helpful and friendly.
The room was very comfortable and the furniture brand new. You can see they had designers in to help with this hotel. The whole place has a modern feel to it. The shower has great pressure and the bed was super comfy.
In the morning the breakfast was incredible. The selection was huge and all of a very high quality.
When I checked out the staff asked about my son and insisted I go to the hospital and give my husband my room card so he could go to the hotel and shower and have breakfast.
They were so friendly and helpful.
I will return to this hotel for a lovely weekend break very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel is amazing and is great value for money. Since the hotel is fairly new it is in top notch condition. The rooms are very neat, smell great and have excellent finishes. This is going to be my go to hotel in the future. Apart from this the service is great and the hotel boasts two pools (1 Big one and a kiddies pool with sea sand and a play area).

Downside: No halaal menu

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on Level 2/4 - These levels have a dedicated ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saajida_Patel78692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
1.0 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $105 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing