We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of LORD PRAWN

LORD PRAWN
Ranked #16 of 128 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We wanted good prawns and fish and we got what we wanted. Really fast service and good fresh food at a good price. It's been there since 1975 so has stood the test of time.

Helpful?
Thank Benjohn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    75
    29
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was an average experience, the mozambican prawns were delicious and worth mentioning but the setting is in dire need of an update. The staff were really lovely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SamhHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“High standard of food and service - a definite "go back to"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a meal there last week whilst on a timeshare break in Umhlanga and couldn't fault the food, presentation or service all of which were of a very high standard.

One very minor niggle was the "over attentiveness/enthusiasm" of one particular waiter who had to keep breaking in on our conversation every 5 minutes to ask how everything was, he needs to tone down his approach and learn not to butt in when patrons are speaking!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We've been dining at Lord Prawn since 1995 and returned last nite after an absence of 6 years. Much to our surprise the head waiter, Nazir, recognized and greeted us by our surname. Although busy and not having reserved a table, he got us seated and drinks were brought within few minutes. Not much has changed to the menu. Our favorite starters, Clam Chowder & Seafood St. Jacques were still there, these together with langoustines and fresh rock cod were our choices. All meals were fresh and perfectly prepared & served. I finished the evening with one of the best Irish coffees ever tasted (and I've been to Buena Vista, San Francisco). Not a cheap menu but the portions are big and very, very tasty. Restaurant is cosy, slightly cramped but good ambience. A VERY BIG thumbs up to mamangement and staff. I rate you guys #1 seafood restaurant in Durban. Highly recommended to any visitor to the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Cosy ambiance in busy restaurant. Booking highly recommended. Wide variety of dishes from which to choose. Huge portions. Friendly waiters. Will be back to enjoy the delicious seafood.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnglishAnne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LORD PRAWN also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to LORD PRAWN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing