We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prententious” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Box Bar

The Box Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: http://durban.mydestinationinfo.com/en/box-bar
Cairo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Prententious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This whole hotel has a very pretentious vibe to it! went to the bar to have a snack, the venue is quite ordinary, and we were presented with an over-priced, not quite impressive menu...
the only upside is the view, but not worth it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DZohni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, tropical, very inviting and with superb service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“light house bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

very nice light house bar with friendly helpful staff.
The restaurant was good but we had just as good food elsewhere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pinkbaglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

we went there for a snack, but the menu is very limited with over-priced not-so-impressive choices, so we just left!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DZohni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast at The Box Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I went for breakfast twice - the first time we had prego rolls which burnt like hell! but luckily we enjoy hot food, although, it isn't the perfect breakfast. But they were still BRILLIANT prego rolls. The second time I had the BLT and this was impressive! Good sized toasted baguette with fresh lettuce and tomato and perfectly cooked bacon! Was devine!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Box Bar also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Box Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing