We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions and plenty of choice at a reasonable price”

Ocean Basket Umhlanga
Ranked #24 of 151 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ocean Basket Umhlanga offers Mediterranean style seafood at exceptional prices. We’re mad about fish, calamari, prawns, & family.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in Umhlanga Rocks on New Year Eve and couldn't get a table for dinner anywhere. Every restaurant turned us away until we went to Ocean Basket where we were quickly shown a table. Unfortunately the outside tables were all full and it was a little noisy inside but it is a family restaurant after all. The menu is vast with plenty of choice and reasonably priced. The bread rolls and dips were a nice touch. I had one of the seafood combo platters which was good and it was also nice to have wine with our meals. The service was OK and friendly but not very fast. The constant bell ringing from the kitchen became a bit tedious but I suppose if the food is ready, it needs to be delivered quickly.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Billycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 258 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2019

One of our favourite chains, and Umhlanga Rocks did not let us down either.
Excellent kingclip - huge portions. We had a late lunch in a quiet midweek, and this made for an excellent very relaxed meal. Excellent staff, very good fish and sundry items. Nice to have wine with our meal.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Hey there Cherriesfan_9,

Thank you for your awesome, review & continued support.

It makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and received excellent service from our team.

We hope to "sea" you again soon!

Many thanks,
Ocean Basket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

We arrived at the restaurant at 12h00 and it was totally empty.
We ordered soft drinks and this took more than 10 minutes to arrive.
When we ordered our food some order chips or rice and 1 person ordered half chips/rice.
Guess what? We all got half chips/rice. I would have thought that no one in the restaurant and only 4 at our table the order would be easy to get right.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 476eugenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Hello 476Eugenes,

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We all about getting things right so we can give our customers an exceptional Ocean Basket experience. Please forward your details along with this review to customercare@oceanbasket.com so we can be in touch.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks,
The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

I ordered a Hake and Calamari combo with a Greek Salad.
The service was friendly, super fast and the food was fantastic!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StevieSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBasketUmhlanga, Owner at Ocean Basket Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2019

Thank you for your kind review. Kindly visit us again and we trust we can be of great service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019 via mobile

I walked into the place expecting a variety of seafood and was disappointed with the range of the menu but more than that the seafood we had was covered in butter. I know some people might love that but for me it was far too much and took away from the taste of the fish itself. If you like excessive butter go for it but prepare to be disappointed if you don't. As someone who never leaves food on his plate, I left half the meal behind

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Cian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBasketUmhlanga, Owner at Ocean Basket Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2019

Dear Cian K

We are disappointing in that you left dissatisfied. Kindly note we have a set menu as per the franchise. The amount of lemon butter sauce, assuming this is what you are referring to, is as per guidelines we follow.

Usually the waiter would ask beforehand whether you would want the sauce on the side or on the meal. Apologies if this didn't happen. Usually our clients tend to ask for alot of the lemon butter sauce as it is quite popular.

Hope you return again for us to remedy this. Kindly send us your details to: umhlanga@oceanbasket.com for us to be in direct contact with you on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket Umhlanga also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ocean Basket Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing