We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Was here for several days for meetings; nice hotel close to shops and places to eat..Service was good...not great, but its a Holiday Inn so thier are limitations, would stay here again though. Just be careful at night, Durban is not a safe place to walk around on your own...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainsean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Captainsean1

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad that our Holiday Inn Express Durban Umhlanga suited your business needs and furthermore that you will continue to choose our Brand for your travel requirements.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 408 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Near to the airport, Nice and tidy rooms, Nice breakfast, Nice staff gentle and smiling, housekeepers)
We arranged a one night stop over in Umhlanga and based on price and reviews chose Holiday Inn Express. Nestled between office like buildings not far from the motorways we found the Hotel to be very clean and very well fitted out with some really cool décor specially a high quality material plastic glass which look a like glass. We were there on what appeared a quiet Thursday and surmised that this is a popular place for business people. The hotel is located away from the main hub of Umhlanga but there is a good road where you can walk to the beach. Comfortable room, small but well fitted bathroom and a very decent breakfast. In summary a very acceptable abode and excellent value for money. you have the gateway mall just behind you. the night life of umhlanga is good .
it was close to airport so a good choice.
No illimited wireless access (30MB free per day per device is just not enough !)
Entrance door location is quite strange: on one side you have the parking and the desk, on the other side the entrance door 2 floors below … I do not understand how the architect built this hotel …

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harishzdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Harishzdoshi,

Thank you for positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Durban Umhlanga. Our location is great in that we have fabulous ocean views and our Hotel is easily accessible to Gateway Theatre of Shopping as well as our International Airport - KingShaka International Airport.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pros :
- Nice and tidy rooms
- Nice breakfast (just what is needed)
- Nice staff (gentle and smiling, from the desk to the housekeepers)

Cons :
- No recognition for priority members (I do not think the desk looked at it even if I checked in with my platinium card, no upgrade, no lately check-out)
- No illimited wireless access (30MB free per day per device is just not enough !)
- Restaurant seems closed for dinner !
- Plase check there is no football team in the hotel during your stay, otherwise you will be annoyed by some youg stupid young people shouting in the elevators (female staff seems too busy beeing picked up to notice that)
- Entrance door location is quite strange: on one side you have the parking and the desk, on the other side the entrance door 2 floors below … I do not understand how the architect built this hotel …
- Entrance door is quite strange: on one side you have the parking and the desk, on the other side the entrance door 2 floors below … I do not understand how the architect built this hotel …

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortowinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Cortonwinch,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience during your recent stay at our Hotel. Your positive feedback regarding our hotel cleanliness, on the go Express Breakfast and our staff is greatly appreciated. It is our goal to constantly provide superior service and accommodation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your continued support within our brand of hotels.

Kind regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arranged a one night stop over in Umhlanga and based on price and reviews chose Holiday Inn Express. Nestled between office like buildings not far from the motorways we found the Hotel to be very clean and very well fitted out with some really cool decor. We were there on what appeared a quiet Friday and surmised that this is a popular place for business people. The hotel is located away from the main hub of Umhlanga but there is a good road where you can walk to the beach. If you opt for a tax in place of the walk this will cost you five dollars. Comfortable room, small but well fitted bathroom and a very decent breakfast. In summary a very acceptable abode and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wi-fi_router
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Wi-Fi Router,

We are so thrilled that you chose our Holiday Inn Express Durban Umhlanga for your one night stop over. Thank you for your lovely feedback - it is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is located in a great place. you have the gateway mall just behind you. the night life of umhlanga is good . its a small property and the rooms are also very small . but i had a nice view of open space as i had asmall balcony.
it was close to airport so a good choice.

Room Tip: the rooms are all same.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear VanessaP4

Thank you for your positive review on our Holiday Inn Express Durban-Umhlanga. We are indeed extremely fortunate to be situated in such a prime location with Umhlanga Beaches within close proximity, Gateway Theatre of Shopping within walking distance our our KingShaka International Airport a mere 15 minutes drive away. Again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel within the near future.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a poor check in experience with crowds of people trying to check-in and the check-in staff seemed a bit confused. Our room had twin beds and a side view of the sea but the pictures for the wall were on the floor along with the nail and the plaster that once held them in place. We had no remote control for the TV either. The handyman did repair the pictures and found us a remote control then we tried to order dinner. The in-house restaurant Butchers Block menu is provided in the room. We phoned down and placed our order and were told they would call us when it was ready and we could collect our food at reception. After one hour we had heard nothing so another call resulted in having to give the order again! 10 minutes later reception called and told us we had to come down and pay for the food - it could not be added to our bill - we duly went down to pay, collect our food. On getting back to the room the food was stone cold and tasted awful. We were so disappointed with it all that we dumped it in the bin. Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Lorraine B,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay with us in December.

I am glad that you found our breakfast enjoyable. We are very fortunate to have a stunning set up in our Breakfast Room which enables our guests to enjoy the spectacular ocean views. I do sincerely apologies for the maintenance concerns, however, I am pleased to read that our every friendly maintenance team was on hand to rectify the situation for you.

Our aim is to constantly strive to provide superior services and accommodation and it is unfortunate when instances transpire which result in our normal high level of service not being achieved, for this I do sincerely apologise.

We know you have many choices when it comes to choosing accommodation, and we do hope that you will keep using Holiday Inn Express for your travels.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are seriously curious why this establishment apparently received respectable ratings from many guests, akin to Count Dracula's hostelry receiving rave reviews from vampires.

We booked to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Umhlanga over the weekend from 18-21 Jan 2013 and booked it via Booking.com. We expressly asked for a smoking room with a double bed and a bath. Obviously, nobody even bothered to look at this or paid any attention. When we arrived, we were told that no rooms in the inn had a bath. I pointed out that this fact was nowhere stated on the hotel's web pages, and that we had put in a special request for a bath and not a shower.This met with shrugged shoulders, vague statements and lame excuses. However, since there was a room at the inn, and it had a double bed, and we were tired, we accepted the room anyway. Big mistake.

While we were unpacking, a booming voice over the central loud-speaker system suddenly commanded us to "Vacate the room at once because of an emergency" (or words to that effect). Alarmed, we rushed down the stairs, only to be met by some staff in hard hats and clipboards who formed a sort of "safety commitee", who assured us that this was only a fire drill for staff, and that guests could go back and finish their unpacking. When asked why nobody bothered to inform us of this when we checked in only a few minutes before, we only got big vacant looks and shrugged shoulders. But more exitement lay in store.

After complaining at the desk about this, someone muttered some vague sounds presumably meant to be an apology. Later, we found a letter from the "Guests Services Manager" offering her sincere apologies for "the inconvenience caused" by the evacuation drill, and the fact that they were unable "to assist with this request [for a bath] as we do not have any baths". Hearteningly, it is apparently their goal to "consistently provide superior service and accomodations", as we have that in writing. So baths, apparently, are not superior, but a shower with a slippery, wet floor is. Also, not responding to customers' booking requirements is not that essential either. The Guest Services Manager never bothered to contact us personally to hear our side of the story, nor did she leave a contact number. Seeing that it was the weekend, she presdumably thought she deserved some R&R. Probably spent it in a good hotel with baths, room serive and staff who pay attention when a customers asks for some service.

Let me not bore you with the further discovery that they also do not provide room service (but they do bring things they themselves forgot, like sugar and coffee sachets, etc. although that may take quite some time, and your coffee will grow cold). They also overcharged us (although not by very much, and they did correct this). We found a prowler fiddling at the door at five o'clock on the Sunday afternoon, and were fobbed off with the explanantion that he was merely testing the door locks because there had been a complaint. Very reassuring. Let me not even speak either about the monastic "breakfast", but the staff were at least polite and less fiery than the spicy sausages. And then consider that all that comes not at the cheapest rate, either.

I am sorry your rating scale only goes down to "terrible". To rate this disaster adequately, you show introduce a negative scale, and even then I think this nightmare would still fall off the scale!

Room Tip: The best you can do is stay far away from this place!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakenForARide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding your recent stay at our Establishment.

The feedback we receive from our valued Customers, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the shortfall regarding advertising of our properties facililties, we will rectify this with the booking site. All the Hotel Rooms within our property are fitted with Showers. Again, sincere apologies as I know that arriving at our Hotel and not being advised prior is very dissappointing.

The Safety and Security of our Guests is very important to us and on a regular basis we do Evacutation Drills with our Staff Members, and Guests are encouraged to join in. Please know that every effort is taken to ensure that guests are not inconvenienced by this action and regrettably, from our side, the notification on arrival was not given to you.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting our normal high standards of accommodation and service.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope that you will contact me directly for any future bookings, so that I can personally ensure that you experience our normal high standards of service and accommodation

Kind regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $84 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing