We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but great!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

For a cheap hotel this place is in a great location! It's clean and the staff were friendly. I will use this place again! Unfortunately there isn't a gym on site and the pool is really small. Apart from that had a really pleasant stay. Many Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddlelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Biddlelad,
Many thanks for your write up on our Hotel. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    187
    86
    30
    14
See reviews for
89
98
17
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Modern Hotel in very good condition. Staff are friendly and helpful. The Standard Rooms are Very Small in comparison with other Hotels in the same price bracket. Other than small rooms no other complaints. Not my first choice in Umhlanga.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms are very Small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaacoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Jaaco S,

Thank you for doing a write up on our Hotel. We are pleased that you liked the modern look and feel of our hotel as well as the friendliness of our Team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

When checking into an express Hotel one does not really expect to much as it is an express - however this express was laced with unfriendly staff and bad service. I need to mention Desmond (a manager helping out from Gauteng) was brilliant, he had the drive to work, something that the other staff never had.

With regards to location this is an amazing property, the location is the only reason it is getting 3 stars and not 2.

A little bit of advice, do not bother using the bar down stairs and everything is to much effort for the staff, rather take a room with 2 single beds and push them together as the assumption of a double bed is a 3 quarter bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Feedback from our guests is such a valuable tool as it is the only way that we can monitor our service standards and the quality of our product. We constantly strive to exceed guests expectations and I am very sorry that we have under-delivered during your recent stay with us. I am however pleased that you recognised Desmond for his brilliant service and I am glad that he was on hand to assist you and I will definately pass on your comments to him regarding his customer service. We know that you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we do hope that you will continue to support the Holiday Inn Express for your future bookings.
Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn express for business.

Room is very clean and spacious.

Staff are very friendly and hepfull.

The breakfasts are not much to write home about, little dissapointing considering the level another H.I.E breakfasts were.

I was fortunate to have a sea facing room which has a super view.

The hotel is also in close proximity to the promenade for a peacefule afternoon walk/jog.

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We truly value our guests feedback and we are pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay with us during your recent business trip to Durban, Umhlanga. We are very fortunate to have such a gorgeous view of the ocean on our doorstep. Our Team takes great pride in ensuring that our guests feel welcome at the Hotel and I am glad that you made reference to the friendless of our team. I will definately pass on your feedback to them. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is primarily a business hotel but it has a great view of the coast and a small pool. It is located in the huge shopping centre, Gateway which is 5 minutes walk away and has restaurants etc.

The walk into Umhlanga took 20 minutes down the hill and a similar time coming back but it is up hill.

The room was modern and very comfrotable, not much hanging space for clothes, but it was quiet.

Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and there is an excellent restaurant next door for good South African food, the steaks were great but then they mostly are in SA.

Insist on a sea view and some rooms have a balcony.

Room Tip: Insist on room view and ask for a balcony, you may get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Your feedback from your stay at our Hotel is most appreciated. We pride ourselves on our customer service, so it's very motivating for our Team to read such positive comments. We are extremely fortunate to have such a fantastic views from our Hotel. Again, thank you for your positive feedback.
We certainly hope to see you back at our Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a brand new budget hotel that offers great rooms and a wonderful breakfast area compared to some expensive hotels in the same area. If you want a great hotel experience with a low budget, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Request for sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mambushu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our Hotel. We certainly do feel that we provide value for money so it is most welcoming to receive your positive comments regarding our facilities on offer. We do feel that we have the best views in Umhlanga! Hope to welcome you back soon to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Being very close to gateway shopping mall on one side and having a beautiful sea view from the other side makes the hotel a good one. breakfast is for all, which is very good for the price of the accommodation, not many varieties though on the breakfast table and no live cooking egg station, still it went well. staff kind and helpful but there was not the extra mile taken all was just ordinary, I have been in many hotels in Durban and staff were there biggest asset. not here!

Room Tip: sea view is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nafha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We certainly do value our guests feedback as it is an excellent tool for us to manage how our guests perceive our product and our services. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very fortunate in having such a great location - being close to one of SA's Largest Shopping Malls, and then on the other hand having spectacular views of the ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing