We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Country Lodge
Ranked #12 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We felt like we have found a hidden treasure, Gateway Country Lodge is the perfect family accommodation. My daughter and myself had 10 fun filled days in Durban. Our room was the right size for 2 people, with a small fridge, DSTV, free wifi and bathroom/ shower.Very comfortable. We where positioned a stone throw from the pool. So the day always started and ended with a swim. The accommodation is 10 mins from Gateway Centre, beaches and restaurants. So travelling around was very easy. There was plenty of information on hand to what to do in and around Durban The owners where very friendly and helpful, we even joined them and their family for a New Years celebration. The staff provided us with delicious breakfasts, serviced our room and tucked in all the teddy bears! We had a great holiday in Durban, and staying at Gateway Country made that possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are happy that your stay in December was enjoyable and for helping us bring in the new year. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Brought a group of 13 people at start of a tour. Every room was excellent and the overall service of the highest standard. Highly recommended especially if you are looking for a nice quiet and safe location.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdfinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Got last minute booking for one night in a room that could accommodate a family 10, so large was it. It was like staying in a nice home rather than a lodge. Definitely wasn't luxurious, although well furnished. Staff and owner were friendly and helpful. The room was clean although a little dated but it felt secure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you Jenny for taking the time to review your recent stay at Gateway Country Lodge. We are happy to note that you felt like you were staying in a home away from home as that is the feeling that we are trying to promote in our guest house. We are a fully hands on bed and breakfast and we are glad that our farm house style made you feel comfortable. We are looking forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Absolutely stunning! Our room was homely and well decorated. The owners, Ina and Eugene, we're very friendly and accommodating. The lodge is set in a beautiful garden filled with bird life. There is also a sparkling pool and beautiful lapa/braai area. It's situated in a quiet cul-de-sac yet so close to the beach, malls, etc. The staff were extremely friendly and prepare a delicious breakfast. Will definitely return, was fabulous! Like home away from home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thanks for staying with us Kelly, it was really a pleasure to have you as a guest with us. We are looking forward to having you stay with us soon. Merry Christmas and have a happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was a last minute booking as we were travelling with our sick baby. We were given 2 great rooms at an excellent rate. The staff was fantastic and welcoming all round. Will stay there again. Will recommend it to other people. Its a lovely property with so much tranquility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you Caroline for this wonderful review. We are glad that we could make your visit comfortable even though your baby was sick. We hope that your baby has recovered fully and that you return to enjoy our guest house soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Noice levels at the room we were put was bad as we requested a silent and private room.We would suggest next time to keep our request at heart as we travel with a small child which is very sensative to noise an we also like to sleep a bit more than usual than in our normal working lifes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dawid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you Dawid for your frank review of our bed and breakfast. We will certainly try to accommodate you in a quieter room on your next visit as we did have a few boisterous guests on the first day of your visit. You did however say to us that you really enjoyed your stay and we hope to improve on that the next time you are in Durban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent Guest Lodge, we were immediately treated like old friends and had the most enjoyable family weekend in a warm, welcome home away from home. Will definitely stay there again, thank you Ina!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you Heila for your kind review of our bed and breakfast. We are looking forward to your next visit and please let us know if there is anything further that we can do to make your stay with us more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
157 reviews
1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
372 reviews
1 mi away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#9 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $76 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing