We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holtzhausen stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Country Lodge
Ranked #7 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Highly recommended. Just a doorstep from the hustle but inside the walls it's serene, quiet and away from everything. Interior and exterior beautiful. Ina and Eugene's hospitality sincere. Could improve on breakfast, use less salt and make it more versatile, but you only notice that after 7 days, else it's great. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EleonoraH168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks again for staying with us, we really enjoyed having you with us. Thanks for the suggestions with regards to the breakfast and we will try to make it more versatile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Gateway Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

February, 2013 was our second visit to the Gateway Country Lodge - the owners are very accommodating. The garden setting is beautiful - we had a very relaxing time again. We will use this facility again on our next return to Durban.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, you will always be welcome at our Guest House. We have built a lapa for our guests to utilize and look forward to enjoying a braai with you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Make sure you get a recent map to get to the Lodge, not that easy to find.

As we arrived in the evening and only stayed for 1 night, I can only make a short review.
Welcoming was nice, friendly host, honesty bar.
Rooms are clean, spacious and have a clean and fully equiped bathroom.
Breakfast was OK, nothing to complain about.
Our host gave us some tips for dining out in the town with a map, very much appreciated.

Wish we could have stayed a day more to get to know the host and the town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rattenpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I stayed at Gateway Lodge in April 2012. After a horrendous flight from the UK with our two boys we couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. Beds beyond comfortable, room spotless and Ina's breakfasts are to die for! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time out to review our guest house. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Ina and Eugene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Located in a leafy suburb of Umhlanga this hotel was beautifully kept and very welcoming. The rooms were clean and food great, and with the Gateway shopping centre just 5 minutes away it was very conveniently located. We had a great time staying here and can thoroughly recommend it to others. The property was very secure and right at the back of the estate. The road was not on the Sat Nav but easily found as a small private track off the local street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_Travel_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed at this lodge for two nights during the wrold cup. We had a very nice time. The facility was clean and well kept. Ina and her staff were very friendly and overall I would recommend this lodge to anyone.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank SPILTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sebhandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing