We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Country Lodge
Ranked #10 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Located in a leafy suburb of Umhlanga this hotel was beautifully kept and very welcoming. The rooms were clean and food great, and with the Gateway shopping centre just 5 minutes away it was very conveniently located. We had a great time staying here and can thoroughly recommend it to others. The property was very secure and right at the back of the estate. The road was not on the Sat Nav but easily found as a small private track off the local street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_Travel_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed at this lodge for two nights during the wrold cup. We had a very nice time. The facility was clean and well kept. Ina and her staff were very friendly and overall I would recommend this lodge to anyone.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank SPILTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sebhandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 859sanderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Geert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuillermoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing