We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crooked Tree Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #4 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crooked Tree Cottage”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Close to all amenities in Umhlanga. The lack of laundry facilities was a problem.
There is a local laundry which we visited but did not take advantage of as it did not appear very good on inspection. We did find a better laundry in the village itself.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Manager at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and compliments. I have made a note about the local laundry and will try and address your issues with them. I do hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay and good luck on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    45
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
38
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Crooked Tree is less than 5 mins out of central Umhlanga with great ocean views. What sets this place apart is the friendly owners who spend time chatting over their great breakfasts. If you are a visitor they have any info you want at hand and a relaxed banter is a good way to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It was a pleasure and an education chatting to you as well......lovely to meet you and thank you for the great feedback. Hope your house sale goes well and all the best for your build!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The rooms are fantastic, hosts make me feel at home, sometimes I get too comfy and forget I need to go to work. There is a selection of breakfasts which are all superb and freshly prepared to your liking at the time you prefer. For family holiday's or business trips I would most definately recommend Crooked Tree.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gayton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks so much Gayton, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Crooked Tree Cottage was a pleasant experience, rooms are kept neat and clean, service is great, gives you a homey feeling. Its central to everything, very close to the beach and malls and easy access to highways. What i liked best is having easy access to all surrounding thats needed, the people are so down to earth pleasant to converse with and very helpful. I got recommened to Crooked Tree Cottage by a friend of mine he had the same great experience. I dont regret going there, would be my first choice on my next trip to Umhlanga. Thank You

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
It was lovely to meet you and thank you for the great feedback. Hope we see plenty more of you in the future! Special thanks to your friend that referred you please! All the very best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I will certainly go back. The room was beautifully furnished, had a sea view and is located near Gateway shopping center. Hostess was friendly and accomodating even when we booked on short notice. You can even watch dvds in rainy weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and comments. Wish you all the best for the coming year! Hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's a great place to stay and we will be back. Very clean and friendly with all the ficilities you need!! Definatelly will recommend this to our friends and family. Hope to be back again this year!!!


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Lynette, we hope you come again too! We love our repeat customers as they really start to feel like family. All the best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice accomodation and very lovely hosts. You get more that you pay for...
I had a perfect room with view to the seaside. Interesting was to keep the windows closed that no monkeys can get into your room. This is Africa....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank so much for the review, really glad you enjoyed and that the monkeys were an attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing