We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crooked Tree Cottage
Ranked #4 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I will certainly go back. The room was beautifully furnished, had a sea view and is located near Gateway shopping center. Hostess was friendly and accomodating even when we booked on short notice. You can even watch dvds in rainy weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and comments. Wish you all the best for the coming year! Hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    45
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
38
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's a great place to stay and we will be back. Very clean and friendly with all the ficilities you need!! Definatelly will recommend this to our friends and family. Hope to be back again this year!!!


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Lynette, we hope you come again too! We love our repeat customers as they really start to feel like family. All the best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice accomodation and very lovely hosts. You get more that you pay for...
I had a perfect room with view to the seaside. Interesting was to keep the windows closed that no monkeys can get into your room. This is Africa....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank so much for the review, really glad you enjoyed and that the monkeys were an attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had a great stay at Crooked Tree Cottage - the room was small but very comfortable and there is a living room available for sprawling. Helen and her husband are very friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Not the typical person that takes the time to do these surveys, my overall experience and quality of my visit can be summed up in few words,,,, Excellent, clean and extremely friendly couple that run this place, location was fantastic with only a 15 minute walk to town and the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hey Phil
Thanks for taking the time to review us! And thank you for the great words....
please let us know if you try the chutney Kebabs and if you come across the Morris Minor in your home travels!!!
All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked a very last minute trip, and everything went to plan. Booking was efficient, room was neat and comfortable, and hosts made me feel welcome. Price was reasonable, and location was perfect. I will book with them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim_from_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Next time we will be cheering you from the sideline I hope!!! Thank you for the review and we look forward to having you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We enjoyed out stay and felt very comfortable and relaxed, nice area with easy access to Durban City and the local village. Helen and her husband were very attentive hosts and yet left us to relax in the evenings and feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena And John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenoe, Owner at Crooked Tree Cottage, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
You were a pleasure to host with some really great travel stories, I hope we have the same adventures when we are retired!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Cottage

Property: Crooked Tree Cottage
Address: 39 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in November 2005, Crooked Tree Cottage is a 6 room accommodation establishment located in Umhlanga, Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Umhlanga is a premier holiday destination and has the added advantage of being close to some of the business giants located at La Lucia Office Park, Ridgeside (a new development), Gateway and Mount Edgecombe. So we can cater to both the Holiday visitor and Business person alike. There is plenty to do in the area for both types of visitors – beaches, conference centers, restaurants, township tours, kite surfing, mountain biking and most importantly, King Shaka Airport is only 15 min away. Crooked Tree is run by Reinhard and Helen Oehler, both of whom like to take a personal approach to running things. Reinhard is Chief Cook as the breakfasts are his specialty, and Helen runs things in the background, managing bookings, marketing and accounts etc. They both however like to interact with as many of their guests as possible and are often found chatting away at breakfast time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crooked Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing