We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Flamingo Lodge

Flamingo Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flamingo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great value, the staff and owner were very pleasant. Owner was very helpful. Room was clean, and spacious. Owner gave us plenty of information about where to go etc. Five minute walk from beach. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laneyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
21
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Täby, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We (6 ladies) spent some nights on our golfing tour in Flamingo Lodge, and had a great time. The rooms are nice, we got all 3 rooms on the ground level (we were 6 of us) and had a good time around the pool after the daily golf, before going to the restaurants in Umhlanga. And got all possible help from Geoff, from reservations of the tee-off times to the booking of the restaurants. And felt us safe walking to the restaurants in the village centre. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjatta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very Nice location and elegant hotel for a short business trip or pleasure trip.I stayed there for more than a week and Umhlanga Rocks beach is in Walkable distance and has got very good food outlets also nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handsomerob_mahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The location of the lodge is great, and at first blush seems nice enough. Not luxurious, but fine. However, the Pelican room is awful because it is situated right next door to the stairs and parking lot, so is noisy late at night and in the mornings. When I told the owner about this problem, he just shrugged his shoulders! Outrageous. And I was still whacked with the full bill..... Not recommended very highly.

Oh, and when I arrived for breakfast 15 minutes before the scheduled breakfast time ended, they had packed up breakfast! When I asked, I was sulkily given breakfast.

Room Tip: If you don't mind noise and a slightly dated bathroom, this is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great location friendly staff. They acccept kids but we felt awkward as we told several times to keep them quiet - and not excessively early in the morning. Kids are Kids and if you accept them on the premises you have to accept they do make some noise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Loved the Flamingo Lodge - beautiful view from the veranda over morning breakfast. Sea view in the distance. Excellent service, beautiful rooms and the location is of the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytonahotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This lodge is colonial style with such friendly and helpful staff. It really is a 5 star service with very comfy beds and great facilities.

Geoff let me stay until after 2p.m. on checkout day with no extra cost - very fair!

Lovely place, staff and food. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfiemarden33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Lodge

Property: Flamingo Lodge
Address: 15 Flamingo Lane, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Lodge is a 4 Star establishment situated in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks and is closest of all the Guest Lodges (200 Meters) to the main "Blue Flag" bathing beach and the Beach Front Promenade. The Promenade is ideal for those people who like to walk or jog and is about 4 kilometers long, with spectacular scenery, open air restaurants and the occasional sighting of dolphins or whales. Umhlanga Rocks is situated some 10 minutes from the new King Shaka International Airport, and just 12 kilometers north of downtown Durban. Very close to the famous Gateway Shopping Centre and surrounded by world class Golf Clubs. Park your vehicle in our safe car park and you are within a 2 minute walk to the beaches and to the various first class restaurants and shopping facilities that the Village has to offer. Each of the eight tastefully decorated bedrooms all has their own en suite bathrooms/showers, as well as their own private patios. All rooms are equipped with Satellite Television, Safes, Tea/Coffee making facilities and individually controlled Air-Cons. and Fans. One of the rooms is a self catering apartment consisting of a double room with ensuite bathroom (with a bath and a separate shower) a separate television lounge which has a sleeper couch, kitchenette and dining area. The whole Lodge is an "Internet Hot Spot" so people with their own wireless computers enjoy free internet facilities. The Lodge provides for its guests an Honesty Bar as well as an Internet Cafe, where guests can down load their digital pictures on to Disc. A Full English Breakfast is served outside on our balcony, with great views of the sea. We have an arrangement where a few Village restaurants offer a discount to our guests. We have several world class golf resorts within a 10 kilometer drive. Dolphin viewing, Deep-Sea Diving and Fishing Safaris all start from "Grannies Pool" which is just in front of us on the beach. The Moses Mobhida Football stadium is just 10 kms down the road The Drakensberg Mountains with its many resorts are about a 2 hour drive from Durban as are the many Game Parks that surround the St Lucia Wetlands. We can organize all your tourist requirements or business needs through our Reception where the staff will do what they can to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Flamingo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing