We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Excellent hotel, very new only 6 months old. We had a 2 bedroom self catering room, flat screen TV's in each room. The main bedroom had a super kingsize bed, 4 adulds would fit on it comfortably. The kitchenette had coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge, cups and glasses but no plates and cutlery. The decor was 'ethnic', very stylish indeed. Our room overlooked the Gateway Theatre of Shopping and we had undercover parking for R45 per night. We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel although available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dieg057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alles am Familienzimmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank BVweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Hof sind ruhiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pirmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge

Address: 14 Palm Boulevard | Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $107 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge - urban tranquillity set in the hub of the Umhlanga Ridge New Town Centre. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers the perfect base from which to explore the many holiday attractions along the Dolphin Coastline of which its rich Zulu heritage and popular game parks are but a few. The contemporary styled 205 bedrooms include 74 semi self-catering units comprising of family rooms and lofts. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers a fresh and funky restaurant with outdoor deck, a roof-level swimming pool, bar and gym. Choose from our a la carte menu with an abundance of dishes from quick and easy snacks to the more sophisticated steaks and curries and watch the chefs prepare your meal! What’s a family holiday without fun activities and outings? The hotel is conveniently located opposite the Gateway Theatre of shopping, which boasts cinemas, Ten Pin Bowling, Go-karts, bumper cars and more. So make sure to put your fun hats on for an action packed holiday at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. We are also a short 15 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and 20 minutes from uShaka Marine World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing