We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in family suites. Very nice and spacious with two bedrooms and kitchenette. Room service and bar area excellent. Close to Gateway for shopping and restaurants for entertainment. Rooms and beds very comfortable. Check in and check out could be a bit quicker specially when receiving large groups at the same time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Henk L

Thank you for bringing the family to stay at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. I hope that you all had a great getaway in Durban and a relaxing time in our spacious family suite.

I am glad to hear that our location was beneficial during your trip. The kids must have had lots of fun at Gateway Shopping Centre as they offer so much to do, from shops, restaurants to entertainment.

I have taken note of your comment about the check in and check out times. I apologise if there was any delay as this is usually not the case. I have spoken with the TEAM to inquire and we discussed ways to prevent this from reoccurring.

Your busy days must have been tiring and it is great to know that the comfortable rooms and beds provided you with the much needed rest.

We look forward to you visiting us again and hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 318 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. There were however some inconsistencies with the product offered and the market it is aimed at. In the diningroom for instance, the prices are easily comparable with the good restaurants in the area, yet they serve a bottled tartare sauce and shop bought mayonnaise on their potato salad. The rooms are very nice but the walls of the self-catering suites are very thin (board partitions appear to be used) meaning the party two doors down which lasted till after midnight was a serious annoyance as I was working the next day. I was quite cross to see at 09h30 when I left the next day that the party people had a "do not disturb" sign on their door. The staff were all friendly and most helpful.

Room Tip: The gym is very nice so take along your togs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear AntPietermaritzburg

Thank you for visiting us and commenting on TripAdvisor about your enjoyable stay.

I would like to apologise for the disturbance you experienced due to the noise levels. Protea Hotels ensures that all rooms are sound proofed correctly and your concerns raised will be looked into further. Your feedback regarding this matter has been noted and I do appreciate it.

I am pleased that you found the value we offer in the restaurant on par with neighbouring eateries. Our tartare sauce is made in-house by the chef and bottled on the premises. I hope you enjoyed it!

The friendly and helpful interactions you had with the STAFF are something we aim to achieve with every GUEST experience. My congratulations will definitely go out to them on their efforts.

I hope you had a safe trip back home and thank you for choosing Protea Hotels again on your travels.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was very convenient walking across the road to have a meal or go to the cinema due to the proximity of Gateway Umhlanga Mall. Rooms were functional and comfortable and serviced every day by friendly staff. I really can't fault the hotel other that the fact that you have to pay R55 per day parking to park in their basement. Lovely pool on the roof to cool off during those humid Durban days. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLubbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear bglubbe

Those weekend breaks are sometimes just what one needs to relax and rejuvenate for the week ahead. It sounds like your stay did just that and the STAFF will be pleased to hear your comments.

Being neighbour to Gateway Theatre of Shopping is certainly a plus, and whether going for a dinner or the cinema like you did; there are a wide array retail shops and activities also on offer.

Our parking area is very big and requires maintenance and security, hence why we charge a daily rate for using the facility. I apologise if you were not made aware of this beforehand and I will make sure this is communicated correctly going forward.

The Durban sun can most definitely heat up and I couldn’t agree more with the idea of using our rooftop pool to cool down.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next weekend break.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Durban, staying here was a good choice.
Staff friendly (except the night restuarant staff, seemed a bit irratable and the housekeeping in the room was not excellent but ok - they left the bowl of eaten yoghurt in the room and didnt tidy well) , room was spacious and very comfortable, our 2 year old, was given a welcome pack, to keep him busy which was nice and he enjoyed the space in the room. i liked that they had an iron in the room, but should have had a bar fridge too. the location is great, right opposite the mall. Food excellent, would definetly return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Candichap

Thank you for being such a loyal supporter of Protea Hotels and for giving us 5 out of 5 star rating for your latest stay.

We try our best to provide GUESTS with the necessary amenities they may need during their stay. I am happy that your son enjoyed the spacious room for him to run around in, as well as the kiddies pack to keep him busy.

GUEST service is a priority for us and your mention of the friendly STAFF is welcomed. However, I am concerned about your other experiences and will be addressing them immediately with the entire TEAM. On your next visit, be sure to try one of the family apartments or suites, which are all furnished with fridges.

The comment of ‘excellent food’ will make the chef happy, and the TEAM appreciates your recommendation of our services.

We look forward to your return back to Durban.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

this hotel is located just infront of the Gateway shopping center. check in/out was quick and fine, internet speed was ok.
So far the breakfast was good, not that much choices but good and enough.
the area around the hotel is so safe, clean and quite (most of the time).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiadNabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear ZiadNabil

Being near a shopping centre as well as the amazing beach front is truly a pleasure and we love to hear when GUESTS have benefitted from it.

Breakfast is an important part of the day and we like to offer a wide variety options from fresh fruit to the perfect eggs. I apologise if you did not feel that the display was up to your standards and will discuss your comments with the TEAM to see where we can improve.

Creating a safe, clean and welcoming environment is of the utmost importance to us and I am so glad that you felt so comfortable during your stay.

I hope that you have a safe trip back to Dubai and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated to resturants, shopping centres, airport and freeways.
Staff are very freindly and helpful.
It is starting to look a little run down, as you will notice by some of the flooring and carpets in the rooms
The breakfast buffet is great, although the service here can be slow, so if you are in a rush, skip your eggs!
One thing, the hotel is on a busy street where there are resturants, clubs and bars and traffic with noisy patrons.

Room Tip: The family rooms hare huge, and very comfortable for an extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear craigharwood

Thank you for pointing out our unique and convenient location, which is nearby a number of “restaurants, shopping centres and freeways”.

When spending time away from home, it always helps when the STAFF welcomes you with open arms and help out when needed. I will congratulate the STAFF on their positive attitudes towards the GUESTS.

I would like to apologise for the slow service you experienced. This is by no means the standard that we are usually proud of and I will be addressing this with the relevant TEAM members to rectify it immediately.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for 2 Nights in September. Non-Stop Raining in Umhlanga. The Hotel is close enough to walk to shops and restaurants. Not the most luxurious of Hotels but the staff are very good. Room was clean. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaacoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear JaacoS

Thank you for your review and for commenting on our unique location as a neighbour to the Gateway Theatre of shopping, which has many shops and activities to offer (especially when it’s raining).

Your comment about the STAFF is welcomed; they put a lot of effort into providing the best GUEST service so I know that your message will motivate the TEAM even more.

I hope that your next visit is full of sunshine.

Kind Regards
Tina Cattaneo
General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge

Address: 14 Palm Boulevard | Umhlanga Ridge, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge - urban tranquillity set in the hub of the Umhlanga Ridge New Town Centre. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers the perfect base from which to explore the many holiday attractions along the Dolphin Coastline of which its rich Zulu heritage and popular game parks are but a few. The contemporary styled 205 bedrooms include 74 semi self-catering units comprising of family rooms and lofts. Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge offers a fresh and funky restaurant with outdoor deck, a roof-level swimming pool, bar and gym. Choose from our a la carte menu with an abundance of dishes from quick and easy snacks to the more sophisticated steaks and curries and watch the chefs prepare your meal! What’s a family holiday without fun activities and outings? The hotel is conveniently located opposite the Gateway Theatre of shopping, which boasts cinemas, Ten Pin Bowling, Go-karts, bumper cars and more. So make sure to put your fun hats on for an action packed holiday at Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. We are also a short 15 minutes from King Shaka International Airport and 20 minutes from uShaka Marine World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing