We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Very comfy and quiet”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My stay during the month of January was simply relaxing, the place is quiet and very comfortable and could work on my stuff without any disturbances from within or outside. Topest of the list is its staff and the owner, who were very charming and helpful whenever indeed or not. Will do it again whenever I am in Umhlanga.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you so very much for choosing The Sandringham for your stay in Durban and for your very favorable review. Our team are really pleased that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one and we look forward to being of service to you if you are ever in the Umhlanga or Durban area in the future.
Best regards to you and your family,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    51
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
48
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Rooms, service and vibe were all good as usual. Convenient location.
That's why it's my 4th visit. Will be back.
Friendly staff, great breakfasts, nice pool to chill out. Well stocked honesty bar, beers were cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review , we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really look forward to hosting you again in the future if the need arises .
Best regards,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is our 2nd time stay for 3 weeks at THE SANDRINGHAM B&B, The owner,the manager, & the entire team had a pleasant warm welcoming heart.The rooms were spic & span,the breakfast was sumptuous, whereas the service overall was amazing!! We were just like" HOME AWAY FROM HOME". we would never stay elsewhere when in Durban , except in THE SANDRINGHAM B&B, we are carrying with us pleasant memories of our stay and rest assure, we will definitely be back in December to stay, where the Gateway Mall is 5 minutes away and the umhlanga beach 7 minutes from the B&B.Keep up the good work guys !! and we look forward to be back as we miss the place & your warm hospitality.!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you Mr Manu for your great review, we are so pleased you once again decided to stay with us and that you were happy with your visit. We really hope you will favor us sometime in the future if your need arrises. Please pass on our very best regards to your lovely wife and daughter.
Wishing you all the very best,
Regards,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

An excelent accommodation, professional and well trained staff. Clean, comfortable and well positioned. Not far from the beach, but one needs a car - 5min trip to the beach. Wi-Fi singal not so good, but everithing else definitelly good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had our IT guys in to work on our Wi Fi signal and this is now much improved. Thank you for your constructive feedback and please come back soon.
Best regards
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent staff, Sandra was very professional and helpful. The staff was very efficient. Excellent location close to Gateway mall. Parking was safe and secure. The breakfasts served was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hantie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and my apologies for such a late response to it . We are all so pleased yoy enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future if ever your need arrises.
Our very best regards,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Eexcellent service, very neat facilities. Breakfast served on time !. The staff were friendly and were ever ready to assist with any thing. the rooms were very clean and the scenery was breath taking. The service was perfect, we'll definitely be back


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sambulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,thank you for such a really nice review. May we wish you all the very best for 2014 and hopefully we can be of service to you in the near future.
Regards ,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The room we got was very cramped, not at all the room we had booked via Booking.com. When we complained we were told that it was booking.com's fault. View on the parking lot.
Two dogs were roaming around freely, and all around the swimming pool was dog poop. DISGUSTING! Personel acted like it had never happened before and acted offended when we told them that we did not appreciated this.
Breakfast was good, anyway, but we surely cannot recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anoniem489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We are really sorry you were unhappy with your overnight stay at our establishment and apologise for the One small amount of dog excrement found on our grass lawn early that morning. The two small dogs are however personal pets and are a part of our b&b.
Unfortunately your allocated room was the only one left at that time, due to the fact that it was our peak season and it was the only room available for a single night reservation .
Please accept our sincere apologies .
Michael A Goodwin
Proprietor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten luxury bedrooms all en-suite and fitted with fully ducted air-conditioning. Our rooms are serviced daily and are equipped with D.S.TV, tea & coffee facilities, room fridge, room safe, hairdryer, radio/alarm clock, internal intercom and free Wi-Fi connection. Laundry service and airport shuttle are also available on request.Other features include a spacious dining room and a shady covered patio, where you are served a full English breakfast as well as a selection of cheese, biscuits, pastries and croissants, a selection of tea's and fresh filter coffee. We have an upstairs sundeck, honesty bar and fridge, a sparkling pool, a home theatre system with an extra-large screen in an exclusive viewing lounge as well as ample and secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing