We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''Simply the Best ''”
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor's Rest
Ranked #1 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This has to be the best guest house we have ever stayed in. Just simply can not be faulted.
The facilities, accommodation and the warm welcome extended to us by Peter, Cilla, Sandy and the rest of their staff was superb. This is a must for anyone visiting Umhlanga Rocks and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaudeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Anchor's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 275 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

Having read all the reviews of Anchors Rest, it is difficult to add anything to the wonderful reviews already submitted.
We have stayed with Peter , Cilla and Sandy every year since 2004 and totally agree with everything written about the B&B.
The accommodation is beautiful, the setting perfect and the inobtrusive professional service provided is second to none.
We hope to return next year

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bandwScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. Great location, close to the beach, restaurants and bars. (walkable) Our room was so large we where really able to enjoy it. Bathroom huge with bathtub and seperate shower. Beautiful heated pool. Loved the upstairs shared living area, and self serve bar. (honor system) Breakfast could not be beat. Would not stay any where else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We have visited the Anchors Rest 5 times since 2003.
Our last trip was February 2009 with my parents.
My parents have been with us on 3 other trips

We would never stay anywhere else in Durban.

The Anchors Rest:
From the minute you walk in the peace & tranquilly hits you, the green lush gardens add to the ambience. As there are only a handful of apartments you feel like you have the place to yourselves. There is an immaculate guest lounge with comfortable sofas to relax on adjoining a lovely terrace where we have spent many evenings relaxing.
The pool is always warm. The whole place is kept to a very high standard and is absolutely spotless.

Location.
It could not be better, being only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Umhlanga which boasts many great restaurants which cater for formal or informal dining meals and the best seafood and steak we have eaten anywhere on our travels. Also a couple of supermarkets which stock everything you need.
It is only a 5 minute walk from the beach which has safety flags and lifeguards. The beach is like most in SA clean and appealing for all ages.

Rooms:
Our favourite is the Yellowwood room. We like opening our door and having a view of the gardens which has the feel it’s your own as it is totally secluded. The room is spacious and as everything else in the Anchors rest tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. It has tea/coffee and a fridge, air con & fan & satellite TV.

My parents prefer the Strelitzia room as it overlooks the pool and has its own awning with sun beds & table & chairs.

The Owners:
Peter & Cilla are without doubt the best hosts we have encountered on our travels. They are friendly, very informative about the local area and have always made us feel very welcome every time we have stated there. There are always on hand if you need them.

We have stayed on a B&B basis before. The breakfasts are always cooked to order and are excellent, noting is too much trouble. There is a variety of fresh fruit, cereals & yogurts.

Sandy who takes care of the bookings is also very welcoming, friendly and is also very knowledgeable about the local area and has her own small tourist business and can arrange lots of different trips to suit your taste.

Overall
We only have high praise and regard for the Anchors rest . We normally stay in 4/5 star hotels when we travel and this sits right up there with any place we have stayed and is by far the best smaller hotel and it fully deserves its 4 star rating.
Look no further you have found the best place to stay in Umhlanga Rocks - Durban.
I am happy to answer any questions you have.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

If you want a place to stay that is quiet, relaxed but close to the center of the town, this is perfect. Very comfotable with everything you need, nice pool and plenty of space to sit and enjoy the lovely bar area.
Wish we had more than 2 nights to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLBUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Peter, Cilla and Sandy run a very professional B&B. Rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean with all the amenities you need. The B&B is well maintained with owners paying considerable attention to items that most owners simply would not worry about. I stayed for 6 weeks and it was perfect. Anchor's rest is a 1 minute walk to grocery shops, and is only a 6 minute walk to the beach and even less to the village. The B&B is very secure and felt very safe staying there. I really wouldn't stay anywhere else. This was by far the best B&B that I stayed at in South Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avisitorQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Having stayed at Anchor's Rest for a total of 9 weeks, my husband and I would ,with complete confidence, recommend it to anyone. The guesthouse, with its beautiful gardens, is located in a quiet residential area but is still only a three minute walk from some of Umhlanga's nicest restaurants. The staff were lovely people and Cilla, Peter and Sandy gave personal and expert attention detail. We recommend the full English breakfast but be prepared to take some exercise afterwards (perhaps in the pool!). All in all, Anchor's Rest was a wonderful home away from home, and we are sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAWDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $86 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing