We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchor's Rest
Ranked #1 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Peter & Cilla Rose the hosts made us feel very welcome, as well as Sandy the manageress. The guesthouse is so central and accessible to local shops and restaurants. Beautiful decor all round and the unit in the garden was very comfortable. We had a great stay all round. Will promote to our circle of friends and our guests that travels to KZN.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Patricia

Thanks for your great review, which we were so pleased to read. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your time spent in Umhlanga. We certainly enjoyed your company and our regular chats. It was great getting to know you. Thanks for offering to promote Anchor's Rest to your friends and guests, which is a great compliment for us.

We hope you will return for another visit before too long.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    46
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
138
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was an excellent place to stay after landing at Durbans's King Shaka International Airport.
Limited number of rooms, personal service.
We stayed at the lower level with private terrace and tidy lawn.
Close to the beach, restaurants etc
Safe place to stay.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Erik

Thank you for your complimentary review, which was a pleasure for us to receive. We are really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of Anchor's Rest, including the fact that it is a safe and secure place to stay, as well as Umhlanga Rocks being safe, as some overseas visitors do express concern. I am happy to say that all of our visitors leave Umhlanga happy and content, having experienced the great facilities of the area, the vibe plus the safe and secure environment.

Please do come back for another visit when you will next be travelling to S.A.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our two week stay at Anchors Rest Guest house will NOT be our last!! We were made very welcome from the first day to the last. It was a truly great stay for us. I can strongly recommend a stay with these lovely people.
Many thanks for a memorable time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Barry

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we will hold you to your word that this will not be your last visit to Anchor's Rest.

Having wonderful guests like yourselves makes it seem more like having friends to stay. The only problem is that time passes too quickly and we have to say 'goodbye' to our new found friends all too soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another visit, hopefully for an even longer period next time.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lovely guesthouse, just a few minutes walk from the beach, and the bars and restaurants at Umlanga. Very relaxing few days walking on the beach and exploring parts of Durban, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qlizgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a lovely review on Anchor's Rest. We are always so pleased to hear when guests have enjoyed their time spent with us, as well as getting to know Umhlanga and Durban - as there is plenty to see and do. Plus the year round, warm weather does make for wonderful walks on the beach.

We are delighted that you have happy memories of your stay here.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Wonderful accommodation, gracious hosts (Cilla and Peter), most efficient staff, and so well situated, close to the beach, shops and where the action is! By the way, Cilla's hair stylist is just great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Jean Anne

How wonderful to hear from you and I am so pleased that you still like your new hair style. When both Sandy and I saw you after your 'hair' appointment, we both said "wow" you look great ... and we meant it. Your new hairstyle really suited you and I am pleased that you are managing it well.

It was so good getting to know you and hearing about life in British Columbia, which sounds really great. Perhaps we will see you in your part of the world one day!

Thanks for your lovely compliments which I have passed on to our staff.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I enjoyed staying there,It was my second time.Everytime I'm down there I feel more like @ home.The place is in an inconvenient surrounding,shops and resturants are a stone away and the beach.I love it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zodie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Zodie

It was a pleasure seeing you again and we hope that you will be back for a third visit. It warms our hearts when guests say that they feel so at home at Anchor's Rest, as we wouldn't want it any other way.

It's great that you enjoyed being situated so close to all the facilities of Umhlanga Rocks, as you said "just a stone's throw away". We enjoy it too. Now that the heat and humidity of summer has cooled, I am walking the dogs down to the beach most days, which they just love!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit - winter is a good time to stay in Umhlanga as it is one of the few warm places in S.A. where you can still enjoy the beach.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a most enjoyable one night stay here - pity it wasn't longer!
The guesthouse is within walking distance (although we drove) of a few very good restaurants - we had dinner at Little Havana, suggested by, and reserved by our host.
Our room was very attractive, comfortable and well-appointed, decent bed with good linen, nice bathroom - it had a little self-catering kitchen too, which we didn't need to use.
There was also an honestly bar, a lovely sitting-room and verandah for the guests use, as well as a pool.
Breakfast was included, and was very good.
Generally the guesthouse looked to be extremely well-maintained, and the hosts were very nice and hospitable people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hugo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Hugo

Thanks very much for your most complimentary review, which we really appreciate. It is always a pleasure seeing guests enjoy our Guest House as well as Umhlanga and it's many attractions and restaurants. Little Havana is indeed a great restaurant and well worth a visit.

There are many other good restaurants in Umhlanga, so it is a pity that you weren't here for longer as you could have sampled different cuisine each evening. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hearty breakfast, which we do pride ourselves on.

We hope that you will come to Umhlanga again and that you will book at Anchor's Rest again so that you can enjoy all the facilities of the Guest House, including the kitchenette and the barbecue facilities in the large, superior rooms.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy


We had a most enjoyable one night stay here - pity it wasn't longer!
The guesthouse is within walking distance (although we drove) of a few very good restaurants - we had dinner at Little Havana, suggested by, and reserved by our host.
Our room was very attractive, comfortable and well-appointed, decent bed with good linen, nice bathroom - it had a little self-catering kitchen too, which we didn't need to use.
There was also an honestly bar, a lovely sitting-room and verandah for the guests use, as well as a pool.
Breakfast was included, and was very good.
Generally the guesthouse looked to be extremely well-maintained, and the hosts were very nice and hospitable people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Property: Anchor's Rest
Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing