We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor's Rest
Nearby Hotels
$132
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$112
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
$493
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
Free cancellation until 05/27
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$367
$305
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
251
51
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
51
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfully stocked honesty barguest houseself cateringgarden roomfew minutes walklovely promenadehome away from homelovely guesthouselovely swimming poolthe perfect place to staybars and restaurantsgreat positionsun loungersinternational airportloved our staycentral locationstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 308 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived late but got a fantastic welcome. Peaceful and relaxing. Great views of the ocean. Food was good. Peter very helpful. Really close to restaurants and bars. Why stop in the centre of Durban when you can stay at Umhlanga Rocks..

Nothing too much trouble, real attention to detail, staff very attentive first stop on our three week tour which set the standard for the rest of the hotels and accommodation

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheetah room which was lovely and self contained.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review, which we really appreciate. We are so pleased that you had a good start in Umhlanga for the rest of your tour and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour as much.

It's always great when guests enjoy our special spot right on the ocean and discover the joys and attractions of the area. Please do tell more people about Umhlanga Rocks as some visitors say 'it is the best kept secret and they discovered our peaceful haven by accident'.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We once again had the most amazing stay at Anchors rest. Their attention to detail is amazing. Loved our room - spacious and so clean. Love the beautiful white linen and little personal touches. The staff are amazing and nothing is to much of an effort. Thanks to our cleaning lady who found my husbands wallet. We will be back soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter & Roche C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that there will be many more visits. Thanks for noticing the little extra's, we think they are important for our guests as it makes them feel welcome and more at home. I have passed your lovely comments onto our staff who were absolutely delighted and have asked me to say "Thank You" for mentioning them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter, Sandy and The Hounds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our late September stay was fabulous and we were well-looked after. The hosts even went a step further to accommodate our late check in. We stayed another night in the area and our host was pathetic. The rooms are specious and being a self-service B&B puts anchor’s rest in their own class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Themba T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to host you again in the near future when you can spend more time with us, as Umhlanga is a great place to be.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very impressed with the well kept, clean rooms, fully furnished and equiped with your everyday needs. Very well situated as it is walking distance to most restaurants, bars and the beach. Staff was very accomodating and friendly and prepared our room beautifully when we arrived as I asked my "now" fiance to marry me. We will most definately recommend and visit Anchor's Rest on our next visit to Umhlanga! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are so thrilled that you got engaged at Anchor's Rest - congratulations! We hope that you will consider coming back here for your honeymoon as we have a lot of honeymoon couples throughout the year as they like the peace and privacy of the two garden rooms. We can decorate the room beautifully for you so that it will look warm, inviting and romantic - all to impress your new bride.

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you both again. In the meantime, good luck with all of your wedding preparation and arrangements. We hope you will have a fantastic day.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The guest house was the perfect location away from the madness of the hotel conference venue. Impeccably kept. Beautiful room and literally yards from the beach and ocean and bustling Umslanga Rocks where there are fabulous coffee shops (vovo telo) and restaurants. Staff were friendly and informative. Would recommend it in a heartbeat. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are pleased that you were able to relax at the guest house after your conference. It's great to hear that our guests have enjoyed the facilities of Umhlanga with all of the restaurants, coffee shops, etc. as one is spoilt for choice. There is a lovely 'buzz' year round now with all of the new restaurants, cocktail bar and coffee shops which we also enjoy and appreciate.

Thanks for your great recommendation and we hope that you will return for another visit.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews