We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely start ...”
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor's Rest
Ranked #1 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for one night - our first in South Africa - we could not have asked for a more accommodating & friendly welcome - the team provide an excellent service - from the charming rooms to the delicious breakfast - the house itself is in a quiet residential street close to the centre of Umhlanga Rocks - a safe & easy walk to the many bars & restaurants ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We are so pleased that you had a good start to your new life in South Africa. Umhlanga Rocks is a great place to visit, even better to live here as many of our guests have described it as 'a little piece of paradise'.

We certainly hope that you will continue enjoying your life here and that your new business venture is going well. Thank you for choosing Durban as your city of choice to start this exciting business venture.

We so enjoyed having you stay with us and learning more about you. We wish you all the best and every success for the future. Unfortunately you won't be staying with us again as you now live here, but if family or friends ever need a bed, we are just up the road from your new home.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Myself (Mathias Phiri) and Alex mwale, both Malawians, sought accommodation at Anchor's Rest for 7 nights, between 29th July and 5th August 2012. There is a wonderful team at this guest house. They are very friendly, generous and caring.
The place is well secured hence the stay is always comfortable. The meals (breakfast) are fantastic as well.
Anchor's Rest is in the heart of Umhlanga town and close to the beach, Indian ocean. So, recreation and shopping are very conducive.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have access to the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We hope your trip back home to Malawi was without incident and that you both arrived home safely. We are delighted that you have mentioned our wonderful breakfasts as guests have frequently said our breakfasts are the best that they have had. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our lovely garden rooms.

As these two visits were business visits, we hopefully look forward to seeing you with your family next time.

Regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Anchors Rest gave us the opportunity to experience such amazing vacation; since it was out first vacation as friends the palce gave us the chance to bond as friends; their facilities and hospitality it is such beyond words. We just cannot stop sharing to other people about the place; we felt at home and yet being on holiday ; everything it is accessable and surrounding are just safe . Thank you to Peter and the Team for caring and their hospitality.

Siyabonga ;Thank you , Baie Dankie, Enkosi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but we loved our garden and the view to see the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boblas2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We are so pleased that you and your friends had a wonderful time at Anchor's Rest. You were great guests and we so enjoyed seeing all of you relaxing and appreciating the facilities of our Guest House as well as those of Umhlanga Rocks.

We are looking forward to seeing you and more of your friends back at Anchor's Rest. Don't leave it too long - winter is a great time to stay here as we don't have a winter season - it stays warm all year round in our little piece of paradise.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We chose anchors rest as a much needed resting place after running the Comrades ultra marathon. Peter, Cilla and Sandy were perfect hosts, very helpful & friendly. Peter's recommendations for dining out were excellent. Our room gave us privacy in the beautiful garden, yet we were a short walk to the beach, restaurants, cafes and shops.
On returning to uk we realised we had left a treasured ultra marathon t shirt in our room. In response to our email, Cilla posted the t shirt to us with a lovely letter. Service with a smile!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thanks so much for your complimentary review. We are pleased that Anchor's Rest offered you the rest and relaxation that you needed after completing the Comrades Marathon. That is a gruelling Marathon indeed and we admire all of the dedicated runners who manage to complete it!

We are looking forward to seeing both of you next year for the 2013 Comrades. Good luck with your training and we are sure you will both be in excellent shape next year to successfully complete the "up run".

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fantastic location, gorgeous setting, spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds and personalised service at its best!

Visiting Durban for the “Top Gear show”, we wanted a hotel / guesthouse close to the King Shaka Airport and the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

After contacting various different hotels / guest houses in and around Durban, we decided upon Anchor’s Rest, Umhlanga Rocks. Cilla managed to impress us with her kindness and willingness to accommodate us, as well as the fact that she responded to our e-mails in a very prompt way.

Hosts, Peter and Cilla catered for all our needs. We were also introduced to the lovely and helpful Sandy. As we arrived at the King Shaka Airport around 09:00, Cilla offered to take care of our luggage until we were able to check-in at Anchor’s Rest. She also printed our boarding passes for our flight home. Peter assisted by guiding us regarding the roads to the stadium, as many roads were blocked off.

We enjoyed a tremendous breakfast and our son loved the pool. Anchor’s Rest is very close to the beach, the shops and restaurants, as well as The Gateway Mall. A fantastic destination for all seasons, as it seems that Durban has no winter season.

Our stay at Anchor’s Rest: safe, quiet and peaceful – absolutely PHENOMENAL!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlommetjieBlommetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay at Anchor's Rest and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the weekend so much. The Top Gear Festival was fantastic and we hope that you will be back next year for the second Festival - we will definitely be going again.

I know Durban doesn't have winter and the fact that your son swam in the pool just goes to prove it. Hope Bloemfontein wasn't too cold when you got back home. Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2013.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The hosts, Peter, Cilla and Sandy are lovely people. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. It felt as though we knew each other from before. The place is lovely, clean, quiete, well arranged and everything works. The location is excellent, close to the shops, restaurants, and the beach. Its a perfect place whether you are on a business trip, or holiday. We would love to go back if we get another chance.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dullah97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us at Anchor's Rest. We really do hope that you will come back to South Africa for another visit and be able to see more of our wonderful country. Durban and in particular, Umhlanga Rocks is an exciting place to be. It is the best spot to be in winter, as it is the 'warmest place to be' as we don't experience a winter while the rest of S.A. shivers during the winter period. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved our stay at Anchor's Rest. The owner's are very hands-on and personable. They make you feel welcome right away. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. They were very accomodating and helpful in every way. We definitely will stay at Anchor's Rest if we return to Umhlanga Rocks in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnwwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing