We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to do...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots to do...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Breakers is a resort that caters for all types. From families with little children to the more mature. There is a lap pool located outside as well as a water polo/volleyball pool where they have activities daily. There is a magnificent leisure where you can work on your tan and have poolside service from the restaurant's. There is a gym on the property and all rooms are self contained but you can order room service or eat out at the restaurants. It is located at the end of the promenade in Umhlanga, so for the fitness fanatics, it is a wonderful 6.4km run/walk round trip and there is also a nature walk located to the left which will take you to the lagoon. Overall it is a lovely resort and you are located close to all amenities in the village and gateway shopping centre is not far away. If you have time you must visit the Sharks Board where they tell you all about the way they clean the nets and all about sharks and the in's and out's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    70
    19
    7
    14
See reviews for
98
41
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a beautiful resort, the facilities are top class. The garden and pool area is beautifully laid out and it is such a pleasure to sit and soak up the sun. Our Unit was situated on the 6th floor which gave us a wonderful view of the ocean.
The restaurant is presently being renovated and will be ready by December 2013 but light meals are available.
We stayed there from 03 August 2013 until 10th.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FayHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My stay at the Breakers was truly a tranquil and relaxing experience. I went out of season for a long weekend and was surprised at the scenic surrounds and lovely atmosphere. I decided to rent one of the holiday self catering apartments on the ground floor and had my own stoep on the lawn.

The facilities are of great standard and the service is efficient and friendly. The view of the Hawaan forest and lagoon gives a sense of a tropical destination out of the bustling city. Will see me next year again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFNT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked via our timeshare. The unit was very good and spacious. Also, great location of hotel and walking distance to the beach. As the unit was on the ground level the view of the beach was obstructed by the trees.

Room Tip: Upper levels have a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudlyDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

this is the best self catering hotel in SA. we stayed on the 7th floor and the views where breath taking. pools and grounds are well looked after and there is always something going on for the kids. i will go again

Room Tip: pillows in the room that i was in where horrible. i was on the 7th floor the views where breath taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A nice hotel with good facilities but lots of room for improvement. We stayed there twice, the first time having quite an average room but the second time we had a newly refurbished one which was much more comfortable. Breakfast was not included in the price and took ages to arrive when ordered. The location was great, just a minute away from the ocean, close to the shopping centre and minutes away from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psailasavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly reception. Convenient location, on the beach with the Gateway shopping mall only 5 minutes drive and the airport only 15 minutes drive.

The rooms where good and clean but we could not get two single beds, since only a double and a divan were the only choice. Apparently there was not breakfast buffet and ordering breakfast in the morning could take ages to be cooked for each guest of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolasn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
627 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Property: Breakers Resort
Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing