We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent 1 week at Breakers Resort between 5th Jan and 12th Jan 2013.
Aircon leaked, we reported that on day 1 , 4 days later an attempt was made but not fixed. The multiple plug in the room did not work . spoke to reception on Sunday, nothing happened until friday when we saw the handyman at reception. Not sure if he is a handyman or a previous hotel security. Restuarant food took forever, waitress forgot the order, only person on pizza night at the restuarant and waited an hour with the wrong order. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rashida m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 192 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent a week at this resort just before Christmas 2012 and we shall probably be back for a week in the near future. The staff were very efficient, friendly, and professional and were a highlight of the experience, which we enjoyed very much. Our two-bedroom apartment, serviced daily, situated on the 8th floor, with large common area and two good bathrooms, had welcome air-conditioning for the December humidity of the north coast, and we had wonderful views over the sea from the main bedroom and from the common lounge area of the apartment. The second bedroom has no view. We counted 31 ships waiting at anchor to enter Durban harbour a few miles south, so there was always something really interesting to look at on the horizon. Security was very good: entrance to and from the beach, 100 yards away, was carefully controlled to ensure that only residents could gain access. The resort facilities include three swimming pools, kept immaculately clean, though one would wish that the 30 metre training pool had been made off-limits for the kiddies, who made it impossible for those wanting to do some exercise-swimming lengths. The kids have wonderful entrainment laid on every day, but there was perhaps excessive use of the public-address system for this purpose (it is a bit tiresome to hear the cheer-leading activities of the entertainers - as talented as they were - droning on for hours at a time). The beautifully manicured lawns around the pools, with staff constantly on hand to deliver drinks and snacks to residents soaking up the sun on the deck-chairs, make the resort a hugely attractive place for anyone wanting to sleep, read or simply lounge about with friends. The food served is good quality, though for those wanting a sit-down restaurant dining experience the chairs and tables are a bit tatty and would benefit from some covering in the form of tablecloths, etc. the site's facilities are impressive: gym, laundry, games, etc, and while there is on-site Wifi coverage they would be well advised to improve this because connections are occasionally lost in some areas. Nearby restaurants exist in abundance a few hundred metres from the resort, and a mile up the road, across the main freeway, there is a massive shopping centre and mini-city where one can find virtually everything one might need to complete the holiday experience. And Durban is a short fifteen-minute drive in the traffic. Check-in and check-out were smooth and professional, with excellent service and no surprises on the bill (all drinks, meals, etc were simply signed for during the week, with no cash required). A most enjoyable holiday experience which we recommend highly.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up for the view and for relative quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian220451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 week at this resort in appartment 902 Unfotunately it was matrix week and all the accomodation in Umhlanga Rocks including our property was full of students.who were having a good time but certainly did not have the same effect on more senior holiday makers.Our Resort put rules in place for the teenagers and that was a bonus.Weather during our stay was mixed.Staff in all departments were absolutely excellent. We would stay again BUT not the first wee in December

Room Tip: High Floors for sea view but these do not have a balcony.Those with balcony do not hav a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a great weekend here in September, The resort is great and caters well for kids, its also the perfect location to see durban and would happily stay there again.

The staff are great and the food at the hotel is very good, All is all a great place to go

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riccardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have found Breakers to be the most brilliant venue in the Durban area.
The resort is well maintained and has huge grounds with 3 swimming pools and other kid-friendly attractions. We stay in one of the low rise 2 bedroom (owners) apartments. It has a master bedroom with king bed and the smaller bedroom has 2 singles. This particular apartment # 410 has a balcony which is a huge plus as it extends your living area considerably and there's something special about breakfast on the balcony or balmy evenings with a drink or two watching the ships' lights out on the ocean. If you're an earlybird like me you can get great photos of the sunrise over the sea.
The apartment has air-conditioning, ceiling fans and comes with secure undercover parking as well; and of course, daily maid service. The letting agent is located in the Breakers building which we found useful
Breakers is well situated and you can take a pleasant walk down the promenade to Umhlanga Village which is a vibrant little community with many interesting shops, restaurants and cafes as well as 3 major supermarkets for buying basic supplies. For the hardened shopaholics Gateway Shopping Mall is a few minutes drive away or accessible by taxi for a modest cost. Durban city is only 20 minutes drive away.
We always try to make a point of doing the Hawaan Forest nature walk when staying. It's a fascinating walk through the forest, across wooden walkways and you end up with a stroll down the beach to get home.
Many people in Australia ask us if Durban is safe as a place to visit, but we can honestly say that we've never been at all concerned for our safety, and Breakers Resort is itself very security conscious, though there are the occasional 'break-ins' by the monkeys to steal your fruit and sugar if you happen to leave the doors or windows open.
On the downside - wifi in the rooms would be good but there is access in the lounge area. The poolside cafe has been known to run out of certain foods at inconvenient times (like when you really want a pizza), but their chicken pizza is rated amongst the best on the planet!
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Apartments with a balcony are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Breakers Resort for a week. The resort is ideally situated close to shopping centers and is located at the beach. It is perfect if travelling with kids as the activities are oriented towards kids. We were travelling with our 7 month old who really enjoyed the pool. Can get a bit noisy though. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Ideal resort to just relax. Beautiful sea views. The resort in general is well kept. The garden is very beautiful.

Check in was quick and the staff were friendly. Our unit, number 903, was in a good condition and clean. We had 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Kitchen was well equiped. Activities at the kids club will keep your kids (under 12) busy.

Not enough for the teenage kids with the games room having only pool tables, table tennis and a soccer game.

We didnt make use of the restaurant or room service as it was not halaal. There are plenty of halaal restaurants and take outs close by tough. Gateway Mall is 5 minutes away by car.

The beach within walking distance. The resort is next to a nature reserve.

Going back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,973 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
437 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umh...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $127 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing