We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WELL RUN ESTABLISHMENT”
Review of Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 week at this resort in appartment 902 Unfotunately it was matrix week and all the accomodation in Umhlanga Rocks including our property was full of students.who were having a good time but certainly did not have the same effect on more senior holiday makers.Our Resort put rules in place for the teenagers and that was a bonus.Weather during our stay was mixed.Staff in all departments were absolutely excellent. We would stay again BUT not the first wee in December

Room Tip: High Floors for sea view but these do not have a balcony.Those with balcony do not hav a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a great weekend here in September, The resort is great and caters well for kids, its also the perfect location to see durban and would happily stay there again.

The staff are great and the food at the hotel is very good, All is all a great place to go

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riccardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have found Breakers to be the most brilliant venue in the Durban area.
The resort is well maintained and has huge grounds with 3 swimming pools and other kid-friendly attractions. We stay in one of the low rise 2 bedroom (owners) apartments. It has a master bedroom with king bed and the smaller bedroom has 2 singles. This particular apartment # 410 has a balcony which is a huge plus as it extends your living area considerably and there's something special about breakfast on the balcony or balmy evenings with a drink or two watching the ships' lights out on the ocean. If you're an earlybird like me you can get great photos of the sunrise over the sea.
The apartment has air-conditioning, ceiling fans and comes with secure undercover parking as well; and of course, daily maid service. The letting agent is located in the Breakers building which we found useful
Breakers is well situated and you can take a pleasant walk down the promenade to Umhlanga Village which is a vibrant little community with many interesting shops, restaurants and cafes as well as 3 major supermarkets for buying basic supplies. For the hardened shopaholics Gateway Shopping Mall is a few minutes drive away or accessible by taxi for a modest cost. Durban city is only 20 minutes drive away.
We always try to make a point of doing the Hawaan Forest nature walk when staying. It's a fascinating walk through the forest, across wooden walkways and you end up with a stroll down the beach to get home.
Many people in Australia ask us if Durban is safe as a place to visit, but we can honestly say that we've never been at all concerned for our safety, and Breakers Resort is itself very security conscious, though there are the occasional 'break-ins' by the monkeys to steal your fruit and sugar if you happen to leave the doors or windows open.
On the downside - wifi in the rooms would be good but there is access in the lounge area. The poolside cafe has been known to run out of certain foods at inconvenient times (like when you really want a pizza), but their chicken pizza is rated amongst the best on the planet!
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Apartments with a balcony are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Breakers Resort for a week. The resort is ideally situated close to shopping centers and is located at the beach. It is perfect if travelling with kids as the activities are oriented towards kids. We were travelling with our 7 month old who really enjoyed the pool. Can get a bit noisy though. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Ideal resort to just relax. Beautiful sea views. The resort in general is well kept. The garden is very beautiful.

Check in was quick and the staff were friendly. Our unit, number 903, was in a good condition and clean. We had 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Kitchen was well equiped. Activities at the kids club will keep your kids (under 12) busy.

Not enough for the teenage kids with the games room having only pool tables, table tennis and a soccer game.

We didnt make use of the restaurant or room service as it was not halaal. There are plenty of halaal restaurants and take outs close by tough. Gateway Mall is 5 minutes away by car.

The beach within walking distance. The resort is next to a nature reserve.

Going back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in February - My expectations were exceeded as I thought that because it was the last resort on the beachfront it would be far away from everything and be rather average and also because of the cost of the apartments per night, but in fact, it has the most spacious grounds and pretty gardens and it is in a very scenic location with the Hills behind, the estuary, nature reserve and waterways to the side and the sea in the front. The grounds are spacious with three great pool areas - probably gets very busy with children during school holidays, but rather ideal out of season. The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was stylish, comfortable and very functional with everything one would require in a self catering unit. You can take lovely long strolls along the beach or the the well maintained walkways, or you can walk into Umhlanga village area with it's shops and eateries within 19 minutes or take a 4 minute drive there. A car is still recommended if you wish to visit sights and attractions in the area.If you looking for a family beach holiday in Umhlanga and do not wish to pay a fortune, then look no further than Breakers. It is also suitable for all types of travelers depending on the time that you visit. Umhlanga is a truly lovely place and a wonderful beach holiday close to many exciting things, including the new airport. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Obviously rooms higher up are better as they will have sea views. I also recommend the rooms that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stuartgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely resort, lots to do, activities arranged for children and adults. There is a beautiful 2.3km path along the beachfront, also the Huwaan forest is right next to it for walks. Close to Gateway shopping centre. We would definitely go again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VenusEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,115 reviews
1.7 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort

Address: 88 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $110 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing