We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star food and service”

The Hussar Grill Gateway
Ranked #25 of 140 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Description: The Hussar Grill at Gateway Theatre in Umhlanga is regarded as one of South Africa's premier restaurants, serving only the best steak available.
Restaurant details
Description: The Hussar Grill at Gateway Theatre in Umhlanga is regarded as one of South Africa's premier restaurants, serving only the best steak available.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

The first impression is that of silver service at this restaurant. The starched white table cloths and silver cutlery complement the extensive wine library. The serving staff invited us to try the huge steaks, but our group opted for starters that included: posh na hos, snails, smaller steaks, ribs

Thank CollRr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear CollRr,

Thank you for your review of our Gateway grill room.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Due to circumstances our group had to make an unscheduled stop in Umhlanga and were pleasantly surprised that the franchise had arrived in Umhlanga and we made a beeline to the restaurant based in a huge shopping mall.there was plenty of seating and the waitress was very efficient in taking our orders,uncorking our wine and advising us of the various steaks on offer. Opted for the ostrich for its health benefits and it was cooked to perfection. Would heartily recommend this venue to anybody visiting Durban and its surrounds

Thank lostsoul2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear lostsoul2015,

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our Gateway grill room.

We are so happy to hear that our commitment to quality food and service is truly appreciated by our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

My meal at Hussar Grill, Gateway was exceptional! Although the waiters standing outside trying to convince people to come in (reminded me a bit of a Mauritian Flea Market!) almost put me off, I enjoyed a lovely evening, with great food, wine (their bottle of Hussar's 50th Anniversary red was great!), and very good service. Highly recommended

Thank Hamish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Dear Hamish,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Gateway steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at our restaurant with superb food and wine. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

So disappointed. We are big fans of Hussars and have visited many different branches. Today’s experience was poor. Surprised to see at 6pm we were the only customers in a huge area apart from the slightly weird guy in the corner with a laptop, headphones and beer who was clearly using the restaurant as an internet cafe! Our waitron was great, no complaints there, but to be expected given that we were her only customers. The starter was good, steaks not so good. My medium fillet was lukewarm but my husbands medium rare was hot? Alas, his was also the end piece and not so tender. We won’t be returning

Thank MrsB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear MrsB010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Gateway steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We are very disappointed to hear that your food was not consistent with the high standards we pride ourselves on. Please, could you kindly take a moment to send a copy of your review and contact details to gateway@hussargrill.com so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

From the food to the service everything was amazing. Steaks were made to perfection..juicy and tender melt in the mouth steaks. The service we got from our waiter was top notch..very friendly and always a smile on his face. And a special thanks to Elvis for making it a memorable visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NastassjiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Nastassjia,

Thank you for your review of our Gateway steakhouse.

We are thrilled to hear that Elvis made your evening so exceptional and that our carefully aged steaks were cooked to perfection! We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent Hussar experience.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Gateway also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing