We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to Durban”
Review of Zeranka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zeranka Lodge
Ranked #3 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oss, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location close to Durban”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This bed and breakfast was really nice. We only stayed there for one night.

This lodge is close to Durban. If you want to visit durban this is a nice location to stay. The lodge is really nice and close to the beach.

The owner is a really nice person who gives you all the information you ask for.

The rooms were large and clean. They were really comfortable.

We had to go really early in the morning to catch our flight. The made a really nice breakfast and put this in our rooms, so we could take this with us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvL3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    85
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
76
150
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed at Zeranka Lodge for 3 nights in February. Have stayed there already in 2009 and 2010 with the previous owners and I can only say it even improved.
Marcelle is a very fine person and a nice host. The housekeeping/cooking staff is very friendly and adequat. Garden is beautifull
Can suggest this place to everyone. Just near the beach and the ocean...wonderfull place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautifull lodge on the beach. Rooms are most comfortable. Staff especially Dorothy "the ommelette lady" are a credit to a wonderfull establishment. The gardens and pool area are tranquil and kept spotlessly clean. 5 star in every way

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunguestin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solwezi, Zambia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

just one week ago I had a chill-out weekend with my sister at this lovely place. Marcelle the owner is the most wonderful host with the greatest tips and suggestions of what to do, where to eat, which mall to go etc. she is so friendly and helpful. the tropical garden really feels like being in Uganda or so. the short way to the beach is very romantic and literally just 30 m long. rooms are spacious and very nicly decorated. the omlets are made with love and deserve all the good rating mentioned here at TA. the honesty bar is well stocked, by the way :-) whenever I have to go to Durban in future - this is may place to stay at!

Room Tip: rooms facing the beautiful tropical garden are highly recommended or the one next to the path to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabineSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundelfingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent 6 days at the zeranka lodge and we both had travelled a lot before but never ever had such nice hosts like Marcelle and Allan.
They really care for their customers, they have very good advice, nice tour operators. We really appreciated their service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely rooms, clean and great hospitality. Close to a nice beach. We were very well looked after and served a greate breakfast. We only had one night, but we will absolutely return the next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely clean rooms, delicious breakfasts, friendly , well trained and helpful staff and management. What more could one ask.? Hosts Allan and Marcelle go out of their way to ensure that all needs are met. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
2.4 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
LaLuxe B&B
LaLuxe B&B
#1 of 22 in La-Lucia
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeranka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeranka Lodge

Property: Zeranka Lodge
Address: 12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeranka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zeranka Lodge is the winner of the B&B sure/Kwababa Award and we are 4 star registered. It is a family run Lodge. We have a beautiful garden with pool and BBQ facilities. We are only 30 metres from the tranquil lower La Lucia beaches which can be accessed via a gate within Zeranka grounds, and approx 4km from Gateway (one of the largest shopping malls in the world) offering a multitude of shops, entertainment, and eating experiences. You will have one secure parking bay on the premises per room/unit and all rooms are air-conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Zeranka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing