We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for everyone”

Gateway Theatre of Shopping
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: More than a shopping centre, but a giant theater that is dedicated to entertaining you. We specialize in taking the therapy of retail to a whole new dimension. Prepared your senses for overload at the biggest shopping complex in the Southern Hemisphere and one of the coolest malls in the country. Grab your ticket and prepare to be thrilled, excited and asking for more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have been to the Gateway shopping mall countless times when on holiday in Umhlanga every year.

Like other reviews mentioned, this mall offers entertainment for young and old. We always watch a movie at Gateway on a rainy day and love to play bowling and when our two teenage boys are with us, I am outnumbered by the three men in my life and the competition usually get fierce!:)

The high end designer shops is pure bliss! I absolutely love the Swarovski shop with it's wide variety crystal items.

You can rest your tired feet (and purse) in one of the many restaurants.

Highly recommended for a fun filled day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    166
    56
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

A lovely and huge shopping and entertainment complex - thats what Gateway is. You can shop till you drop and then choose between loads of lovely restaurants to wine and dine. You can easily spend a day here!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpawankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KZN
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An above average shopping Mall”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have visited this mall frequently over the years and it provides you with an above average shopping experience. We would not choose it as our #1 choice Mall in the Durban area, which in our opinion is won hands down by the Pavilion. Gateway does has one advantage and that is its outdoor entertainment area - very innovativen

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeardedwonderKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One stop shopping experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I live not far away from the Gateway shopping mall.
I get everything I need from the mall. Man is this mall gigantic or what.
As a family we always frequent the mall,be it for shopping or just chill,catch a movie etc.
The mall has everything to offer for all the different age groups.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank selvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience at Gateway”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I travel to Umhlanga Durban every 2 weeks, and every visit I spend time at Gateway. I have not once had a bad experience there. It is always clean, and there are so many activities to keep children and adults alike entertained. There are plenty of restaurants and take-away fast food places, and coffee shops to suit every palate. There are also great specials on a regular basis which makes the trip worthwhile every time. I would definitely recommend this shopping to all shop-a-holics.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindimae-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Theatre of Shopping also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Gateway Theatre of Shopping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing