We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

Shark Cage Diving KZN
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come dive with the Shark Men " No Diving Experience Required" 5 - 20 sharks on a dive, come and enjoy a dive with these amazing animals in the open sea either in a Cage or snorkelling with sharks No Cage. Talk on sharks and marine life, show you shark nets with explanation. Shark viewing from the boat, Sharks Guaranteed or your MONEY back.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip to SA, very well organized by John Miller, we got a very clear description on forehand how to reach the place. Once we were there a good instruction of what to do. we felt very safe in the speedboot. We have seen a lot of sharks just next to the cage and could bring home wonderfull pictures taken by John with the underwater camera. One advise: before take off take a pill against seasickness.

Thank katleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Shark Cage Diving KZN, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Mate thanks for the support always great when we get to see so many animals in the ocean in their natural environment take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 398 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was an amazing experience. John and his team were so friendly and obviously very comfortable with what they were doing. I am not a seafarer and got quite seasick. Despite that I never felt unsafe. John was quick to answer emails and ensured you don't need to know how to swim. He even included pictures since we had to change our date due to weather concerns.
We were out in the water in no time. We had over 20 sharks - dusky, blacktip and spinner. They were circling before the bait was even thrown out. We also saw whales 20ft from the boat, dolphins, a flying fish, and giant sea turtle. Unreal!

Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Shark Cage Diving KZN, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Mate thanks for the support always great been out in the open ocean and was great having you guys take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The early morning start is a bit of a shock to the system when on holiday (you have to be at Rocky Bay for 6:15 am) but this was soon forgotten when the boat was launched and we were on our way. The first sighting was of Humpback Whales close...stunning and beautiful creatures. Within seconds od arriving at the Aliwal Shoal we surrounded by some 15 sharks. John Miller was very informative about the shark types we were seeing (black tipped reef and some dusky).

John was very clear and precise with his briefings and about the sharks and reef in general.

The experience of being down there with them was amazing.....I had to resist reaching out and touching them as they swam by.

All in all a great experience and Johns outfit were brilliant. Try this !!!!!

Thank Colin and Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Shark Cage Diving KZN, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Guys thanks again for the support it is wonderful to see Sharks in their natural environment and thanks for visiting our beautiful country, take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I went with John and his two team members along with a small group of people whilst visiting my friend in SA. The small group size meant that the team could give a lot of individual attention. My sea-legs weren't very sturdy, but despite my seasickness, it was an amazing experience. The sharks very very close, about 10-15 of them. We also saw whales all around us. John is very knowledgeable and respectful with the animals. I had a great time!

Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Shark Cage Diving KZN, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi thanks for the support and glad everyone enjoyed this amazing experience, its always great to see the Humpback Whales while we are out at sea in the Winter as the are busy with their migration from the Antarctic through our warm waters with their young or having their young on the way to Mozambique take care and thanks for visiting our beautiful country,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My family & I had the most amazing experience with John Miller & his team. Our shark cage dive was definitely the highlight of our holiday. I would definitely do it again! It was a totally awesome experience & I am in awe of the amazing job John has/does! We got a disc of great photos as a remembrance & the T-shirts we brought, we wear with absolute pride. For anyone looking to have a really memorable experience, this is definitely it! Thank you to John Miller & his team for a truly wonderful experience. Best regards always, Stefan, Claudia, Bryan & Sheree Bezuidenhout, JHB.

Thank Clauds131171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Shark Cage Diving KZN, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi wonderful that the whole family could take part in this together, thanks again for the support take care and love to all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Cage Diving KZN also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Shark Cage Diving KZN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing