We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nostalgic visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Marlin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nostalgic visit.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. Having grown up on the coast this hotel brought back childhood memories of past holidays. The hotel is old-fashioned and in need of TLC but offers good value. We enjoyed the meals, especially breakfasts. Unfortunately the beach was polluted at the time and swimming banned so we drove a short way to one further down the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaahhcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    75
    18
    9
    14
See reviews for
67
56
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Blue Marlin Hotel is somewhat old fashioned extremely friendly place to stay. The rooms are comfortable if a little basic. The staff are marvellous, with nothing to much trouble. The food is excellent with a very varied menu.
The hotel boasts wonderful gardens with stunning views overlooking the bay. There are plenty of areas to sit and watch the wild life in the gardens, mainly birds which are encouraged with many feeding tables.
Scottburgh is a small town some 40 minutes south of Durban, with many interesting shops along its main street.
There is also a bowling green in the town, with a membership boasting many British people
Recommend a visit to the Zulu Safari(about 1 hour road journey)situated in the valley of a thousand hills.
Crocodiles and snakes can be seen, and the highlight is where the zulus perform a mock wedding ceremony
Light refreshments are available..

Room Tip: Higher rooms overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbparker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We are a family of 4 and had a wonderful holiday experience at the Blue Marlin in July. We stayed in a family unit which was comfortable and clean and we found staff friendly, efficient and helpful. The games room and trampoline kept our children busy and the pricing of food was very good for delicious and good quality meals. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdlblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were appalling and the hotel needs TLC. The worst of it all was that my room was bug infested and I, after checking out after one night, went home with bites all over my legs.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The staff seriously needs an attitude adjustment. They should be reminded without guests, they do not have a job. Hotel needs TLC. The dining times are ridiculous. Real clock watchers, food is removed from buffet 10 mins before closing. Meals are served in a rush. After 8pm the staff just Disappear. After dinner you have to go searching for somebody to serve drinks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rina Cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've stayed here, and the Cutty Sark (nearby). They are on par to be honest. They're both seaside hotels that date from a bygone era. Someone forgot to close them down. This one you have the added inconvenience of having to cross a railway line to get down to the beach, and the gate keeps strict and restrictive hours. Good views. Old style food, decor and fittings. Moldy. The service is aloof, and the desk staff don't see your convenience as their ultimate goal. They'll keep you waiting, do their lengthy paperwork, call the bell-hop who eventually appears just to carry your little satchel etc. Nobody has the confidence to talk to you, explain the delay etc. Generally a problem on this coast that used to be the best, but now has been forgotten and surpassed by other regions. Sad really. But this hotel is fine for a quick stay i guess. Just dont book more thn two nights. You cannot eat that kind of food for that long!

Room Tip: upper floors, away from railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank More-Elbow-Room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Be very careful, their security is not up to scratch at all, we were in an armed robbery with guns and knives, lives threatened and lots of belongings stolen, bank cards, cell phones, very traumatic experience, will not go again, 4 weeks later, lady was raped in this Hotel, after our incident so therefore they did not up their security

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
8.0 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
15.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
19 reviews
11.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
40 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#3 of 9 in Umkomaas
11 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gee Wizz B & B
Gee Wizz B & B
#5 of 5 in Scottburgh
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Property: Blue Marlin Hotel
Address: 180 Scott Street | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marlin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing