We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
20
15
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
15
3
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 39 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Upon entry into room on first day and the next three days my olfactory senses were affronted by a dank and musty smell in the room. There was no clean and sealed soap on the first day except for a used one in the shower caddie. The grouting in the shower is not cleaned properly and therefor left an overall dirty look to the room and the shower caddie is rusted. The shower door was not clean and the rubber sealers were loose. The top of the swivel dust bin in the bathroom was grimy. Requested an iron from the owner for two day but no joy there so ended up doing business in a wrinkled shirt every day.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckinn123, Manager at Duck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2015

Hi

Although I spoke to you over the phone I thought it would also be appropriate to respond to this review. We are terribly sorry and apologise profusely for your lack of service and the unclean room.We strive to give the best product at the best service and it saddens me if we do not deliver. It is never nice to get a bad review but it does keep us on our toes and we did address every problem you encountered and I assure you that this will not happen again.

Thank you
Kind regards
Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

Stayed here for three weeks! Will stay here again. Owner operators are very friendly and inviting, breakfasts are sublime along with the facilities. Beds were comfortable, rooms, diner and property were meticulously clean. The garden is amazing with the indigenous plants and bird life, spent a few evenings sitting outside and feeling like I was in a dune forest! Awesome, do not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Any room will be awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckinn123, Manager at Duck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2015

HI

Thank you for your kind review, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will come visit us soon again.

Kind regards
Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2014

The Duck Inn was an impromptu sidetrack from our original South African plan. The grounds have a country charm reminiscent of Midwest America. But this is Africa, so you do have wild monkeys rather than squirrels. The bed was very comfy, and the proprietors, Manfred and Ingrid, take friendliness to another level. It was a lovely visit.

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckinn123, Manager at Duck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2015

HI

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really do appreciate it. It was so nice to have met you and thanks for the chats. We do hope you will come visit again.

Kind regards
Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2014

Manfred and Ingrid are such a super young couple who cannot do enough to make your stay feel like home from home.

The Duck Inn is in an area called Meerensee which away from the centre of Richards bay and near to the Marina which has some great restaurants. There is also Whale watching available which is relatively new to the area.

The accommodation is extremely nice and the breakfasts were excellent, we stayed for 4 nights and were sorry to leave.

A definite on our "We will return list"

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckinn123, Manager at Duck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

HI

Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying by as much as we enjoyed accommodating you. We do hope you will return very soon.

Kind regards
Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Duck Inn is like home away from home only better!! The rooms are spacious and the grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The birds and visiting monkeys are delightful. Ingrid and Manfred are wonderful and welcoming hosts and are willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and fun. I've been to South Africa twice and if I'm fortunate enough to visit again my first choice of where to stay would be The Duck Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckinn123, Manager at Duck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Hi

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was very nice meeting you and getting to know you all. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it always feels good when people enjoy staying by us. We do hope you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews