We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of La Tala Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Tala Restaurant
Restaurant details
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I hadn't been up to Tala in a couple of years and recently took a day trip up to La Tala restaurant. After an awesome game drive, viewing much wildlife, we had lunch at the restaurant and found the venue clean and staff extremely welcoming and friendly. There was visible management present throughout our lunch, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Looking forward to visiting again soon !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNS25677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    3
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

While the setting is spectacular and being able to go on a game drive after lunch is incredible, the Sunday buffet was not.
The spinach was burned, several other foods were cold. Nothing was labeled, which usually wouldn't be a problem but with the "soft" lighting it was hard to tell what was what and after dodging several pots in fear that they were livers, guess what, I got the livers.

My daughter and I enjoyed the ice cream and chocolate sauce but other than that I strongly advise you make use of the picnic /braai facilities rather than pay for bellow average food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Permen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KZN
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Visit to Restaurant”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Went there because thought it would be good to experience for overseas visitors. Service very slow & unprofessional, extremely expensive. Cold day but no heating available - frozen for most of the time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeardedwonderKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyerton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SHOCKING SERVICE”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Although we could see that there was a buffet we were told to choose something from the a la carte menu even though dinner had been booked and paid for on reserving the accommodation. The service from waiting staff left a LOT to be desired. All round, a very disappointing stay at Tala Private Game Reserve Leadwood Cottages!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clover m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrifying food experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Booked lunch at the game reserve. It was shocking how much was so wrong! Group of ten of us. Firstly the butternut soup served came with stale "fungus tasting" croutons. I ordered a salmon instead of chicken and feta sandwich on ciabiatta. It was served without the feta. Bit into the ciabiatta and it was chewy with white fungi forming...absolutely disgusting! My colleagues ordered spare ribs. Half got pork and the others beef. The beef was off, had a terrible smell and not edible! There was an order of a fillet steak sandwich.... The meat was burnt and tough. Chef needs schooling on how to prepare fillet!! Overall holiday experience and seeing as though we were staying at another Three Cities Hotel- it was evident that there's a trend of poor food service!!! Also heard from the staff that before it was taken over by Three Cities it was a better game lodge. I wouldn't waste money going there again!

Helpful?
1 Thank RestuarantTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tala Restaurant also viewed

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to La Tala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing