We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay over”

Tala Private Game Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$218.04*
and up
Mini Safari Tour from Durban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nearly 3,000 hectares of pristine natural plains and grasslands, this Kwazulu-Natal reserve has abundant bird species as well as big game.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked 5 chalets . It was disturbingly filthy. Firstly u have to have a 4x4 to drive to the chalet . There is no phone to speak to reception so god forbid there be an emergency. U will be left to die as the reception is really bad as well. The rooms are like an insect breeding ground. We were all bitten by BED BUGS!!! There was a towel chair in the room which had a huge poop stain on it ... Urgh .... In one chalet there was a rat!! And who do you phone to get rid of the rat? Not reception because u cant get hold of em remember. Also there were spider webs all over the place. Even on the chandelier hanging over the bed . U wont be able to sleep at night because of all the insects crawling over you.they didnt bother giving us mosqito nets

However the game reserve itself is amazing. Plenty of animals to see and enjoy. Lovly picnic area with rock pools and we enjoyed a wonderful game drive with a great driver . So i guess if you wish to vist tala, dont spend the night because u will just be awake waiting for the sun to rise.

5  Thank zaakira07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalaGameReserve, General Manager at Tala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments after your recent stay at Tala Private Game Reserve. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that Tala Private Game Reserve is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.

Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Tala Private Game Reserve again in the near future.

Best regards,


Emile Roworth
General Manager
gm@tala.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 253 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We enjoyed a day at Tala. We didn't want to travel to far so it's great for a day trip from Durban. After reading some bad reviews we nearly didn't go but glad we did. The staff were very friendly , we had lunch in the restaurant which was good, saw plenty of animals including hippos and the rhinos, then we swam in the rock pool. It was lovely and clean and we were the only people there. All in all a good day out at reasonable prices. No cash accepted so credit cards only.

3  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalaGameReserve, General Manager at Tala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent visit with us at Tala Private Game Reserve.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Tala Private Game Reserve again soon!

Regards,


Emile Roworth
General Manager
gm@tala.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely day out , plenty of game to see, cheap entry as far parks go. 6 and 8 year old well entertained. Pleasant lunch at restaurant, staff very friendly. Will definitely try pool and picnic area next time. Pool looked very inviting.

Thank PJCCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalaGameReserve, Manager at Tala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst visiting Tala Private Game Reserve is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time for posting your comments on Trip Advisor during your recent visit, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your comments about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to visit Tala Private Game Reserve and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Emile Roworth
General Manager
gm@tala.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have always taken overseas visitors to Tala as it is close to Durban, has plenty of animals and we always have a picnic lunch or a braai by the rock pool in the middle of the day, so it is quite an inexpensive day out. I visited in December with family from overseas and was very disappointed in the state of the toilets and the pool was bright green, so our children were unable to swim. It is still worth going to Tala to see the animals but the management needs to do some serious maintenance to restore this gem to its former glory.

3  Thank jonesylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalaGameReserve, Manager at Tala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your visit at the rock pools. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Tala Private Game Reserve is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,


General Manager
gm@tala.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been visiting family in South Africa this Christmas from England. We visited Tala shortly after new year. Having been there before in previous years, I was looking forward to visiting again. The bad service started immediatly we arrived at the gate. There was a distinct " I can't be bothered ," attitude. We drove around for a while, and then stopped for lunch. The previous lovely restaurant was appaling! No one greeted us when we walked in as they were chatting amongst themselves, and the tables had not been cleared away and were filthy. We cleared a table and took the dirty crockery to the staff who told us to put it in the kitchen. When we asked for a menu, we were told to help ourselves. We then proceeded to wait for almost an hour. When we then asked if we were going to be severed they asked how many of us were there. They never came to take orders, and after another 20 mins we left. The toilets were dreadful. When we went to complain at the office, there was already a very angry lady shouting about the very bad treatment she recieved. We promptly left. I will NEVER return, and strongly urge anyone interested in visiting Tala, not to bother. I felt if we did complain, nobody would have cared less. I have noticed that the customer service has declined hugely in South Africa, but this was beyond acceptable! I worry about the animals at the reserve, if they cannot look after their customers, how badly are these animals being looked after? So very, very bad....

L Trinder.

10  Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tala Private Game Reserve also viewed

 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Tala Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing