We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“olive and oil lunch special”
Review of Olive & Oil

Olive & Oil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whatever the occasion, when dining at Olive & Oil, we aim to imbue our Guests with a sense of well-being and comfort. Our friendly staff will be on hand to indulge you with the finest traditions of the Mediterranean – exceptional food and unrivaled hospitality. Our motto is simple; comfortable food made exceptionally well!
pieterma
1 review
“olive and oil lunch special”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

great food great service from kayle,
R100 for two cources plus free glass of wine, best value in town

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    90
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmoshphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had lunch here on fathers day last week, it was extremely delicious and I ate everything very quickly, and I even had space for desert of crème Brule. the service was very slow however, but that was the only letdown. On that specific day there were two singers and the restaurant arranged for them to sing a song to my friend as it was her birthday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously do not see what the fuss is about.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food portions were ridiculous, you shouldn't have to pile the plate it's a sign you are seeking 'value for money' when in actual fact the sauce should coat the pasta not drown it i excessive cream! Pasta was over cooked. Calamari starter was over seasoned. Thank the pope the carpaccio was raw or you would have ruined that too. Atmosphere, lighting too stark and tables too closely set together. Sorry guys but when you look at your competition in pmb you being rated no1 out of 16 is more because people like the idea of you, and they are from pmb the city of awful food choices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungryhart0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Awesome Experience”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What started off as a simple night shortly became one of the best ever. I got engaged at Olive and Oil last night! My fiance was so nervous to propose but we had one of the best waiters who had the best customer service i have experienced in South Africa, The meal i had was as amazing as he explained it and he went to the extra mile to help make our special moment extra special! Thank you Bevan :-) but i forgot my champagne cork :-/ really wanted to put that money in like you suggested!!! Thanks again it was an AWESOME night!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zipho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decadent!!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Absolutely fabulous environment... Such friendly faces, especially our spidery friendly waiter "Bevin" .. wat a pleasure to have friendly and bubbly waiter! Will definitely come again! Well done for bringing some variety to pmb

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shivzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Oil also viewed

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Olive & Oil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing