We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our stay was excellent from check-in to check-out. We were greeted with smiles and our bags were taken inside for us and stored away as we arrived before check-in time. Housekeeping was hurried to get us rooms asap, which was within half an hour. When we arrived in the rooms the room was clean and very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Except for room service being a bit slow and confusing the order our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear "ChrisBowman",

We truly appreciate the feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your fellow TripAdvisor users with this insight into your experience.

Our sincere apologies for the slow service experienced when ordering room service and not getting your order right the first time. Clearly not an acceptable standard of service and will be discussed in detail with the TEAM members involved.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when traveling to the Pietermaritzburg area!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
10
12
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

When I visit Pietermaritzburg, I find myself dining in the restaurant at the Protea Hotel The Imperial. The ambiance suits any occasion - whether it is for a couple, a family, a business meeting or a celebration. The restaurant is serene and this pleasantly tranquil. I have all my business meetings here.
The meals are excellently prepared and the kitchen staff make every effort to meet the requests of the patron. Stacey and Faith make up the best food that one can expect in a restaurant. Kim does an excellent PRO job. Mr Rodney Bull. the GM is accessible to the visitors and this willingness to ensure a satisfied customer is evident in his staff - too many to mention. May this excellent service continue. Please advertise yourselves more widely so that more visitors to Pietermaritzburg may enjoy the good service and excellent meals

Room Tip: Ample free parking = enter from the back entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easygoing282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear "Easygoing282",

Thank you so much for the excellent comments and your kind recommendations of our hotel and it's TEAM members. Do make sure you visit us - and our restaurant - again soon!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empangeni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Protea Hotel Imperial on the 6th of May , during check in the lady was not friendly and proffesional. We were handed a key and the directions were not explained, few minutes later while i was the room one of the Housekeepers barged into the room without knocking, the menu in the room and the telephone on the desk was full of dust.
The bathroom was clean and very modern :D, however the signs on the shower handle were misindicated I had to wait for fifteen minutes for water to get warm, only find out that I need to point it the other direction which was marked blue for hot water.
In the evening I had to wait for 45minutes for a Spaghetti bolognaise to be brought up into the room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xerox_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Xerox_13,

The TEAM at the Protea Hotel Imperial, would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.

Although you indicate your overall stay was comfortable, we are disappointed to hear that we have not been able to exceed your expectations. Together with the reception and housekeeping TEAM, we will review all necessary standards in order to avoid the service lapses mentioned by your kind self. Friendly and professional assistance upon arrival is the start of pleasant hotel experience, therefore we need to ensure we perform consistently. Our apologies for the unacceptable unannounced entry of one of the housekeepers. Although all of our colleagues have been trained to carefully and clearly announce them selves when entering a GUEST room, we will reiterate and retrain this standard with all relevant TEAM members with immediate effect.

We do hope you will stay with us again when returning to Pietermaritzburg.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived without a prior booking very late at night and the service was warm and friendly. The room was spacious enough and comfortable despite some marks on the linen. Would have loved to have breakfast there as the set-up looks beautiful with a water fountain but unfortunately we had to leave early the next morning to continue our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear "MiciF",

The entire TEAM at Protea Hotel Imperial is excited to hear that we have been able to create a comfortable & pleasant stay when traveling through the Pietermaritzburg area. Thank you for your recommendations on our beautiful historical property in down town PMB.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon, and do make sure you join us for a sumptuous breakfast next time around.

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We, myself, wife and 2 kids 11 and 10, stayed here for the midmar weekend. The hotel is in the centre of the town opposite the police station and the Natal Museum, it is an old block of flats that has been renovated so the rooms, we had a family double room, are large, each had a flat screen TV and both overlooked the main road, which is very busy and quiet noisy. The main room was huge, well appointed and had a balcony which you shared with the room next door and the aircon was put to good use. The bathroom had a huge shower with excellent water pressure, but no bath. The finishes are very good and the old lift has to be seen and used to be appreciated, it took me right back to my childhood and my kids were astounded with it. Unfortunately within arriving in the first hour we received a phonecall from the front desk that someone had complained that our children were making a noise, all the passages have wooden floors and the kids were running from the lift to the room, twice, this was a first for us and we would tread very lightly whilst leaving the room each time. The one huge negative was the food, the actual restuarant has the most beautiful setting inside the Hotel, but the food was very expensive and inedible, so we had dinner on the first night here and ate out on the Saturday evening. The breakfast was average, apart from millions of ants inside the cuppachino/coffee/hot chocolate machine and the waitress only charged us for 1 adult for each breakfast as she said the kids didnt eat a lot, great that she can be empowered to make a decision such as this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear "DeanSouthAfrica",

On behalf of the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel Imperial, we would like to thank you for your kind and honest feedback. The detailed feedback will be shared with all team members, allowing us to further improve our services and facilities on offer.

We were disappointed to hear that we have been unable to impress you with our restaurant offering. I can assure you that your experience is not a true reflection of the standard we like to offer to all of our guests, so we will discuss your comments in detail and identify where we have dropped the ball.

Of course, your kind acknowledgement of the grand old charm of our beautiful hotel is much appreciated. We therefore look forward to welcoming you back again soon, upon your return to Pietermaritzburg.

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A wonderfully lovely hotel in the heart of the Pietermaritzburg CBD. The rooms are well kitted, and recently redone. The staff cannot do enough for you! Will certainly be going back for the great welcome and service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Geoffrey A,

What a "WONDERFUL" review. The entire TEAM at the Protea Hotel Imperial values your kind recommendations and will celebrate your comments around the service received. We are extremely happy to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Greetings to Johannesburg and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at PH Imperial recently I found the hotel old world charm and tranquil. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and are kept in great condition. The staff are on top form - always attentive, friendly, professional, and the breakfast is superb.
I discovered Boudouir biscuits on the buffet which brought back childhood memories.
The conferencing facilities are also top-notch. The Free Wi-fi was fast and never dropped. From check-in to checkout, it was a great experience for my business trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear NellieRod,

I am thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Protea Hotel Imperial. Your detailed comments and kind recommendations are much appreciated and will be celebrated with the entire TEAM.

I fully agree with you that our hotel still radiates that "old world charm" even though it has been recently refurbished, allowing for optimal comfort of our guests. And yes, Boudoir biscuits are one of my favourites as well!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Pietermaritzburg!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Wartburger Hof Hotel
Wartburger Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wartburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#2 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 224 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Imperial)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pietermaritzburg, Imperial Hotel is filled with charm and classic elegance. The Prince Imperial of France, Napoléon Eugène Louis Jean Joseph Bonaparte, only son of the Emperor Napoleon III and the Empress Eugénie, graced this hotel with his presence in April 1879 and it was duly renamed in his honour. Built in 1878, it is an absolutely gem in the 'City of Choice'- Pietermaritzburg, which is also the capital of KwaZulu Natal. Within walking distance to the Provincial Parliament, Government head offices and the Natal Railway Museum, the hotel is ideal for both corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is 103 km away from the Durban International Airport and 8 km from Pietermaritzburg Airport. Imperial Hotel, with its historical ambience and tranquil flare, offers 70 air-conditioned and en-suite bathrooms with a choice of a single or double-bedded room and family suites. For the convenience of our guests each room has in-room facilities that include a satellite TV, telephone and tea/coffee facilities. Secure parking is available on the premises at no additional fee. 8 state-of-the-art conference venues are available, seating up to 300 delegates, fully equipped with all the necessary equipment including broadband wireless internet access in the Courtyard and foyer areas. The Garden Room restaurant is open from 06h30 to 22h30 serving mouth-watering buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax with friends or meet the locals at the Woodhouse Bar which is open from 11h00 to 23h00. Pietermaritzburg is not only a historic area but there are numerous exhilarating events that take place in this area. The city gives start to the Duzi canoeing event, the Comrades Marathon, Midmar Mile Swimming competition and the Amashovashova Cycling Race. In winter, guests can witness snow in the midland areas such as Bulwer, Underberg and Drakensberg. For some Kasi (South African townships) flavour, guests can visit Madlula's Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing