We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A wonderfully lovely hotel in the heart of the Pietermaritzburg CBD. The rooms are well kitted, and recently redone. The staff cannot do enough for you! Will certainly be going back for the great welcome and service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Geoffrey A,

What a "WONDERFUL" review. The entire TEAM at the Protea Hotel Imperial values your kind recommendations and will celebrate your comments around the service received. We are extremely happy to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Greetings to Johannesburg and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
10
13
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at PH Imperial recently I found the hotel old world charm and tranquil. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and are kept in great condition. The staff are on top form - always attentive, friendly, professional, and the breakfast is superb.
I discovered Boudouir biscuits on the buffet which brought back childhood memories.
The conferencing facilities are also top-notch. The Free Wi-fi was fast and never dropped. From check-in to checkout, it was a great experience for my business trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear NellieRod,

I am thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Protea Hotel Imperial. Your detailed comments and kind recommendations are much appreciated and will be celebrated with the entire TEAM.

I fully agree with you that our hotel still radiates that "old world charm" even though it has been recently refurbished, allowing for optimal comfort of our guests. And yes, Boudoir biscuits are one of my favourites as well!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Pietermaritzburg!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband visited the Imperial Protea Hotel recently during a business trip. He was really disappointed with the relatively expensive hotel with nothing worthwhile. Firstly no service was available for help with the luggage. The air-conditioner was out of order. Each visitor receives a card for personal access to the room that was booked but during the night somebody opened his bedroom while he was asleep which means that another person had access to the room. This would definitely be the first and last time that we will make use of this specific hotel. Overpriced and really disgusting. No privacy and poor service.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room otherwise you land up in a room with lots of noise. Police station also across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anita y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Anita Y,

I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the various embarrassing operational lapses your husband has experienced and I can assure you that all of your detailed comments have already been discussed with the various department heads in order to rectify these short falls. Clearly your experience does not reflect the standard of service we aim to provide to each and every guest.

Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

Again, your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Protea Hotel Imperial in future.

Yours faithfully,

Rodney Bull – General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pietermaritzburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Imperial for Comrades. It was a down run and it was starting in Pietermaritzburg.
It is a very cute hotel and has a very warm feeling about it. The staff were helpful in any concerns we had.

The little restaurant serves its purpose and made really nice basic food. The rooms have all been redone and are very modern.

This hotel is suitable for a business trip and if you are staying overnight. It served its purpose by being a quick walk to the start of comrades. We did not have to hassle about the waking up early, drive and stress for parking.

The area the hotel is in is not pretty and would advice extreme precaution walking around.
We know next time not to leave the hotel. The outside of the hotel does not give it justice to what awaits you inside. The decor is very grandeur.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Hi Jax34,

Just a quick note from the entire TEAM at the Protea Hotel Imperial, to thank you for the positive review of your stay with us! Its truly appreciated!

We hope you enjoyed the Comrades 2012 and would love to welcome you and your fellow cycling comrades back next year!

Warm regards,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Checked in 22 November 2011 at 9:57 pm. Told dinner is closed irrespective of a plea made. Reservation was for Suite room but given single beds room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonkoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very disappointed to hear we could not live up to your expectations when visiting our hotel. I have already addressed the issues raised with our management team in order to capacitate them how to deal with these situation in future. Secondly, my sincere apologies for the confusion around your room reservation and the inconvenience experienced.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again and restore your confidence in our product and service levels.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Bull – General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The staff here do not speak English and could not even take a room service order. The room was very expensive and not overly great. Room service took forever and most items on the menu were unavailable despite being a saturday night.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniemac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations when staying with us at the Protea Imperial in 2009. Your feedback has been noted and addressed accordingly. The hotel has been extensively refurbished, new management has been appointed and new service standards put in place. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Bull
General Manager Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The Protea Imperial hotel has a sort of faded grandeur - the former ballroom now serves as the restaurant. The bar has a kitsch 70's feel and is an atmospheric place for a drink as long as you don't mind the sport (UK football and SA rugby on our visit). Bedroom was spacious and reasonably well equipped although the en suite bathroom only had one hand towel. Breakfast and dinner were both buffets - food didn't seem to be terribly fresh and we did wonder if it might have been a second outing for some of it. All in all though, perfectly adequate for an overnight stop if you're passing through on your way from Durban to the Drakensburg mountains.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingpiglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us at the Protea Imperial in 2009. In order to further improve our services and facilities, the hotel has been extensively refurbished, new management has been appointed and new service standards put in place.

The entire team looks forward welcoming you back soon when visiting Pietermaritzburg!

At your service,

Rodney Bull
General Manager Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
2.7 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
15 reviews
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Wartburger Hof Hotel
Wartburger Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wartburg
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ilawu Boutique Hotel
Ilawu Boutique Hotel
#17 of 64 in Pietermaritzburg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 224 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Imperial)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pietermaritzburg, Imperial Hotel is filled with charm and classic elegance. The Prince Imperial of France, Napoléon Eugène Louis Jean Joseph Bonaparte, only son of the Emperor Napoleon III and the Empress Eugénie, graced this hotel with his presence in April 1879 and it was duly renamed in his honour. Built in 1878, it is an absolutely gem in the 'City of Choice'- Pietermaritzburg, which is also the capital of KwaZulu Natal. Within walking distance to the Provincial Parliament, Government head offices and the Natal Railway Museum, the hotel is ideal for both corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is 103 km away from the Durban International Airport and 8 km from Pietermaritzburg Airport. Imperial Hotel, with its historical ambience and tranquil flare, offers 70 air-conditioned and en-suite bathrooms with a choice of a single or double-bedded room and family suites. For the convenience of our guests each room has in-room facilities that include a satellite TV, telephone and tea/coffee facilities. Secure parking is available on the premises at no additional fee. 8 state-of-the-art conference venues are available, seating up to 300 delegates, fully equipped with all the necessary equipment including broadband wireless internet access in the Courtyard and foyer areas. The Garden Room restaurant is open from 06h30 to 22h30 serving mouth-watering buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax with friends or meet the locals at the Woodhouse Bar which is open from 11h00 to 23h00. Pietermaritzburg is not only a historic area but there are numerous exhilarating events that take place in this area. The city gives start to the Duzi canoeing event, the Comrades Marathon, Midmar Mile Swimming competition and the Amashovashova Cycling Race. In winter, guests can witness snow in the midland areas such as Bulwer, Underberg and Drakensberg. For some Kasi (South African townships) flavour, guests can visit Madlula's Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing