We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners couldn't do more for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Three excellent nights at BB where the hosts Gordon & Morag did everything they could to make our short stay thoroughly enjoyable. The value for money was excellent too.
We were late arriving due to a delayed flight into Durban, but Morag magiced up a snack and supplied a very good bottle of red to see us through our unpacking. The Room (no 1) was in the garden with a terrifically comfortable bed and great shower. It had a well equipped kitchen, though other than the kettle and fridge we did not need it. Breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice and fresh fruit and yogurt. Whilst Maritzberg is not particularly scenic we found Traffords a good place to eat and Morag’s suggestion of the Thai in Hilton was good too. We toured The Midlands from the Babbling Brook. It was a great base, out in the suburbs but we felt safe, secure and slept so well.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 in the garden was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have so many nice things to say about this B & B.
From the moment we got there until we left, everything was perfect. We are hard to please but we were really impressed with this place. The welcome was friendly, helpful and efficient.
The surroundings and gardens were so good that we didn't want to leave.
The room was second to none. Everything was provided. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The complimentary products were top class.
The bed was very comfortable and the linen and towels spotless and crispy clean.
We had our own kitchen. It was lovely to sit in the verandah to admire the beautiful garden and listen to the bird and watch the monkeys.
We were really tired when we arrived after a long flight from London and a long drive. Morag cooked us some supper served with a glass of wine.
Morag and Gordon were very informative and we felt like we had known them for ever. They informed us about what to see and do and recommended restaurants and where to do grocery shopping.
Morag even brought us some delicious soup for our supper the next day.
I had a swim in the pool and relaxed with a book in the sun and Morag was very attentive and brought me a cushion for the sun lounger. Very thoughtful.
Oh yes, the breakfast! We had everything we could want, fresh muffins, fresh coffee, cereal, fruit juice, skewers of fruit, followed by a hot cooked breakfast. and toast. Yummy!
We found their hospitality and service superb.
The internet was good and there were lots of TV channels ensured that we stayed around the room.
We would highly recommend this amazing B& B to anyone who is in the area.You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautifully decorated rooms in quiet suburb, and amazing attention to detail. Everything you needed in the room to self-cater including fridge and microwave. Delicious, generous breakfast with fruit salad, fruit juice, coffee etc. My son chose the fried eggs as well as scrambled eggs and got both :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trontron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your hospitality,we were on the road for 15 hrs and to tired to look a restaurant.Our hosts treated us on a lifesaving bowl of hot soup and bread! They deserve 5star rating!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room had everything one could ask for and is spacious. As with most B & B's the cherry on the top is the owners, Gordon and Morag who are very friendly and helpful and added to our pleasant stay. We would definitely stay there again when next in the Pietermaritzburg area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had a spacious room and en-suite bathroom with a lovely big shower. A great breakfast was served to my order. All round a great experience! Convenient to get to my business meeting in Pietermaritzburg

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in one of the garden suites in a separate dwelling from the main house. It was spotless, spacious, well-equipped with a kitchenette and desk, and has a lovely huge rainshower. The bed was very comfortable. Cereals, yoghurt, fruit and muffins are provided at breakfast along with your selection of hot items - eggs, bacon, omelette etc. Gordon and Morag are warm and welcoming without being at all intrusive. The price is very reasonable. One couldn't ask anything more of a quality bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
3.9 mi away
Gateside Guesthouse
Gateside Guesthouse
#9 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
28 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
118 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ekhaya Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ekhaya Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Duvet and Crumpets
Duvet and Crumpets
#15 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
29 reviews
5.7 mi away
Matt's Rest B&B and Self Catering
Matt's Rest B&B and Self Caterin...
#10 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Africa's Eden B&B
Africa's Eden B&B
#12 of 63 in Pietermaritzburg
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast

Address: 42 Bellevue Road | Prestbury, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range: $48 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing