We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chillaxed to the MAX!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
“Chillaxed to the MAX!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great service, good value, very accomodating staff & management. Brenda on reception was very welcoming and informative. The outdoor pool helped to relax me post the Comrades Ultra marathon. The food quality & standard was
exceptional and great value. The grounds were immaculately maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Raj. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Congratulations on Comrades. I hope you return next year and that we see each other on the road. Perhaps I will be able to finish under 12 hours this time!!!

Regards and best wishes. Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
27
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Aircon was not working, as button broken. One day no clean towels were left.
The fixtures in the bathroom should be tightened and there should be a key in the bedroom doors. The menu at the restaurant is limited when staying for ten days. At breakfast there was no butter for the last three days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TeaMerchant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Building and Hotel Reception are very nice, but the following regarding the rooms. We stayed in room number 3 and the following issues:
1. Bed linen are torn/Our duvet and pillow covers were badly torn and there were blood stains on the pillow cover.
2. Very very noisy
3. Shower does not work properly. When opening the cold water then the hot water just stop, and when closing the taps then the water just keep on running.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Peter. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for taking my call yesterday. The state of the linen was inexcusable and I have taken it up with my housekeeping. The hem had torn and should have been replaced. You asked for additional pillows on the last night and these were taken from the laundry. Unfortunately something had spilled on the pillow cover which was missed in the rush to get it to your room.

Regarding the shower, we have energy/ water saving shower heads in all the rooms. These do take a few minutes to drain and we have have had other guests mention it to us that they do seem to run a bit after turning the taps off. They have however certainly aided in reducing water and electricity usage.

I hope that we are able to host you once again at Redlands and that your experience will meet and exceed the expectations which we as staff expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The place is excellent. Considering that it is located in town and in a busy office park, one never feel the city vibe. Its like a country place far away. The level of professionalism - staff and quality culinary makes this place the first choice. The room are modern and stylish. Its the best you can get in PMB.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zamokuhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

You would have to go a long way to find staff that were more helpful and caring than this team. Everyone from the front desk, restaurant, management and even the accountant, could not have been kinder to us (under our difficult circumstances) than this team.
The room we had also had a temporary problem with the hot water, but we were upgraded to a lovely suite on the first floor as a result, so felt well looked after. The restaurant food was great, (though the kitchen service might be a little slow for those folk who were under time pressure).
Overall it was a good base for us. We stayed for a week so had enough time to get a good feel for the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had to request towels 3 times and it took around 40 minutes for them to be brought to me.
No hot water - luke warm which also took ages to arrive.
Toilet did not flush !!! At all…
Sorry but I will not stay here again, nor will I recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your time in posting this review. I am very sorry that you did not have the experience at Redlands that we strive to give all our guests. There was no excuse for towels not being brought up to the room immediately and I can only apologize for this.

Plumbing issues can affect any of us at any time. The flushing mechanism did break and we have replaced it. I understand that this was brought to our attention on check out. If this is not the case, please contact me directly (gm@redlandshotel.co.za) as an upgrade or room swop should have been offered.

The main hotel building has a 2000 l boiler which has visual and audible alarms should the temperature drop below a certain thresh hold. We operate this on heat pump system to conserve energy and as per Eskom guidelines, the temperature is set at 60 degrees C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work for 3 nights in March. Was pleased to arrive early and allowed to check in early as well as be upgraded to a Library suite for no additional charge. The rooms are good, but the tv channels have very poor signal which could definitely be improved. The wifi worked well and the breakfast and dinner was enjoyable. Another positive on the location is that there are nice running routes around the hotel. I would go back if doing business in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Serg_Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.0 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Wartburger Hof Hotel
Wartburger Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wartburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Property: Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 George Mac Farlane Lane | Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redlands Hotel and Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and Club Room are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Redlands Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing