We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable Service and Excellent Ambiance - Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable Service and Excellent Ambiance - Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good Evening,

Just a short note to express our wonderful experience at the Protea Hilton. We took a drive to the Midlands and wasn’t planning on staying over. Well We Google to see if there was a Protea Hotel in the area and the one in Hilton came up.

From Reception to Housekeeping the service was impeccable . I must say the ambiance and the History of the Hotel is fantastic. As for the restaurant service, this by far was one of our best experience. The waiter was an absolute star who made us feel at home.

This will definitely not be my last time at the Protea Hilton. Looking forward for a weekend away.

In comparison to history the Protea Hilton out ranks the Balalaika Hotel a million times over.

Well done to the management and Staff of the Protea Hilton.

From a Happy Guest

Deon Govender

Room Tip: Room facing the Pool area -Excellent choice - feels you in England
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deongov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Deongov

There is nothing more motivating for STAFF to reach for higher goals than genuine compliments.

Thank you very much for the wonderful letter. I have put it onto the notice boards in all the departments, if only you could see the smiles you have brought to so many faces. Thank you!

Please be sure to contact me when you next book so I can meet you personally.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    83
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
52
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

As a regular visitor to Protea Hotels in South Africa I am extremely impressed with the excellent service at the Protea Hilton Hotel. Heather and her personnel are doing their level best and she can be extremely proud of what she achieved at the Hilton. I rate this as one of the best Protea Hotels.

Johan Wolmarans

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanwolmarans0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear johanwolmarans0

Thank you for your lovely review and the chat at breakfast. It is heart warming when people have been coming to the Hilton for so many years and can see the difference.

I look forward to seeing you on your trips this way in the future. One of my favourite things about being a General Manager is that so many of our GUESTS become our friends.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Due to my work I travel all around the country. Last week we booked into the Hilton. From entering the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff willing to assist with every request we had. Supper and breakfast was delicous ! Well done Vusi in the kitchen and Ethan on the floor you both did a tremendous job. As for Heather the manager you are one lovely lady spontaneously chatting with us. After a cold and rainy day working hard we were treated warmly at a nice fireplace. The hotel staff's professional conduct will make us want to return again and again. Keep up the excellent service . Belinda and Wollie greetings to you all!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123belinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 123belinda

Thank you so much for the amazing comments.

I do remember you sitting in front of the big fire in reception after your long day at work.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to our beautiful hotel. Thank you so much for the time taken to write your lovely review.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Silver Falcons Aerobatic Team had the privilege of being hosted by the Protea Hotel Hilton for the weekend of the Pietermaritzburg Airshow. The friendly staff, warm atmosphere, comfortable rooms and delicious food made this a memorable and relaxing stay. Thanks to the staff and hotel manager for your personal touch!! A definite must for the business traveler!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Werner97,

Thank you for the lovely review.

It was an absolute privilege to host your amazing TEAM, what a lovely group of young men. I shall display your wonderful comments for the TEAM to see.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My Wife and I came across the Hilton Hotel whilst meandering. We stayed over and found everything Fabulous. We loved the place. Now when we go meandering we start off from The Hilton Hotel. We have stayed over several times. We love the area and have found many valuable antiques in the area. The Hilton Hotel is our favourite Holiday spot. The Hilton Hotel is romantic and just Fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view or ask for a room with a lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Minkey2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. GUEST feedback helps us to know where we can improve and motivates the STAFF.

The Midlands has a wealth of beautiful places to explore; be sure to ask for our magazines covering The Meander and The Amble.

I would love to meet you on your next trip, and advise you on some of the hidden gems in the area.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good option for the Pietermaritzburg area. Buffet for Supper as well as breakfast. Good quality food.

Rooms are comfortable with spacious on suite and separate toilet. Staff efficient and Friendly.

Easy accessible from N3

Room Tip: Ask for room viewing pool area, otherwise road noise can be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qwixrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear qwixwrp

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review. In this busy world we live in so many people never have time to write a review. It is always so motivating for the STAFF to read positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay over in a suite with my partner whilst on a midland meander visit. What an oasis after a long day in the car! My partner stays there often on business and I can only echo his sentiments about the smiling friendly staff and management and the luxuriously furnished and comfortable facilities!

I can highly recommend this hotel - exceptionally clean and well managed facilities. The enormous breakfast choice, a most comfortable bed and lovely bathroom will definitely be my first choice when visiting Hilton and the meander again! Astrid A

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Asty2014

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay with us, it was truly a pleasure to read.

Being able to constantly deliver the best GUEST service is what we strive to achieve, and with feedback like yours, we are very happy to see that we are doing just that. We have no doubt that the STAFF will take delight in reading this feedback.

The lovely design of our bedrooms is certainly one of our more prominent features and we are delighted that you mentioned this.

We certainly look forward to seeing you return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
8.8 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
6.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.9 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Address: 1 Hilton Avenue,, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hilton - Opulent Elegance in the heart of the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this four star architectural show piece with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must stay for a meandering country charm seeker. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel boasts all the modern amenities expected from holiday-makers to businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. When bringing the family don’t forget your tennis rackets. Our on-site tennis court offers a great opportunity for the whole family to have some fun. Win or lose, a quick dip in the pool will calm everyone down and clear the air. Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner; a visit to our very own Ellingtons Restaurant offers a mouth-watering choice of local cuisine fit for Royalty. We also offer a private dining area for those special occasions or when entertaining clients. Don’t forget about our Cocktail Lounge that is ready to welcome you for pre or post dinner drinks. So for business or pleasure, Protea Hotel Hilton will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing