We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Hotel Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Protea Hotel, Hilton, has been revamped within the last few years and is a very comfortable place to stay. It still retains some of its charming old features, like the bar, but it has been significantly upgraded and modernised. The room was standard upmarket with a good bathroom. The restaurant facilities were very adequate with a good supper selection and a vast variety on offer for a help-yourself kind of breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Protea Hotel Hilton is perfectly named the “Gateway to the Midlands” and what a magnificent and splendid “Grand Entrance” it is. This was our first time staying at the Hilton since the Protea Hotel’s Group took over and when walking through the hotels door’s we couldn’t believe its transformation. Firstly, the décor takes your breath away with every piece perfectly placed as if hours of thought and love when into it. The décor has a romantic and authentic feel with even the bedrooms and bathrooms lacking no small detail.

The service is astounding - the Afrikaans word “Ongelooflik” is what comes to mind and that can try better explaining how superior it was. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed with smiling faces and a cold welcome drink. Front desk was professional and pleasant with no request being a problem. In fact, it seems as if all the staff at the hotel from security to housekeeping have been handpicked - not only is the service great but they genuinely seem to love their jobs. (I specifically commend Faith at Front Desk and Mbusi who made the weekend so memorable with their brilliant service.)

This hotel doesn’t leave any detail out – and it is so fantastic to see the effort put into the finer details that makes ones stay so special. For example, the welcome snacks in our rooms, the mint chocolates on our bed in the evening and even the complimentary popcorn in the foyer (which was always warm and so tasty).

The only issue I have with the Hilton is that it shouldn’t be a 4* star hotel but rather a 5* hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yachal_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I loved this place as the staff went well out of their way to keep us happy and were entirely amazingly attentive and fantastic. We loved this place because of them!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I travel a lot for my work in 5 star hotels and although this hotel is not so rated, the rooms stacked up in that league. Food and service excellent. Only the wifi was on the blink. Great great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a lovely discovery! This old hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are very comfortable with every amenity you would require including the most delicious squares of fudge along with complimentary tea and coffee in each room. Dinner was delicious and the whole hotel has a really nice, old world charm about it. It is very convenient if you are visiting any of the many boarding schools in the area and very reasonably priced as they have specials for parents of the schools.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, ask for a room near the reception otherwise it is a fairly long walk wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here one night on a business trip, found the hotel very pleasant. Staff very friendly and helpful at the check-in, rooms totally comfortable with nice extra touches eg biscuits with tea and coffee tray, crisp white linen and good quality bed. My room had a bath and shower with separate toilet. Service at breakfast can be improved as it was slow - easy to address with a bit of effort.

A couple of nice Restaurants in the area - recommended to eat at Nicholson's at Garlington but it was closed on Monday evening, so went to Taste of Thai in stead which is situated in Hilton - the food was outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: С видом на бассейн
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Олег Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
21.8 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
125 reviews
6.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
72 reviews
8.8 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#6 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Thorn Tree Lodge
Thorn Tree Lodge
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
16 reviews
18.7 mi away
Wartburger Hof Hotel
Wartburger Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wartburg
24 reviews
5 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton

Address: 1 Hilton Avenue, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range: $92 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hilton - Opulent Elegance in the heart of the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this four star architectural show piece with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must stay for a meandering country charm seeker. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel boasts all the modern amenities expected from holiday-makers to businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. When bringing the family don’t forget your tennis rackets. Our on-site tennis court offers a great opportunity for the whole family to have some fun. Win or lose, a quick dip in the pool will calm everyone down and clear the air. Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner; a visit to our very own Ellingtons Restaurant offers a mouth-watering choice of local cuisine fit for Royalty. We also offer a private dining area for those special occasions or when entertaining clients. Don’t forget about our Cocktail Lounge that is ready to welcome you for pre or post dinner drinks. So for business or pleasure, Protea Hotel Hilton will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing