We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7*s for Karkloof *******”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karkloof Safari Spa
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“7*s for Karkloof *******”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Karkloof Spa, Wellness & Wildlife Retreat ( Africa’s 1st Seven Stars Award resort spa ) was a dream come true. I spend a week surrounded by sheer luxury, breathtaking views and amazing wildlife, spa-ing, organic dining, on safaris, climbing up waterfalls, adventuring, - and filming.

Room Tip: Karkloof does not offer rooms, but small and larger villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEWYORKUSATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review on Karkloof and may we just say that your photos are absolutely stunning! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
106
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Having stayed at some of the best hotels and game lodges in the world, I am not easily impressed. So truly take it from where it comes when I say that I have NO recommendations/improvements that I could suggest to Karkloof. Stunning villa. WiFi, TV and DVD player that work effortlessly, a mini-bar containing all my preferences, and all the luxury one could want or need. Great game viewing, surprisingly - no predators, but plenty of rhino, buffalo, giraffe and plainsgame. Beautiful surroundings - that waterfall! Makoni was our guide was a gem. Every single staff member went out of their way to accommodate us, be it plain pasta or chicken strips for our daughters, or late night dining for us, after some evening Spa time. Excellent Thai Spa, massage was incredible. 10/10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanne-GTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Karkloof. As an avid traveller, we appreciate your compliments and comments. Makoni is truly a very special Ranger and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time on safari. We look forward to having you and your Family visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been to lots of luxury game lodges in Africa and Karkloof is in a league of its own. This is not a "game lodge" but they do have game. The waterfalls were stunning, the scenery unbelievable. The game are very relaxed so you do get to see them easily, and you can take walks in the bush, so this is not the typical safari at all. The service here is above and beyond. They treat you like royalty. Nothing is too much, everything revolves around what you want to do, when you want to do it. Spa treatments, walks, game drives, meals, whenever. The spa was pure heaven. My husband - who didn't want to go to a spa - can't stop talking about it and can't wait to go back. They let you check in at 8AM and you don't have to check out until 8PM so you get 3 full days for a 2 night stay. The food was amazing, I did the raw food detox diet and have never eaten better - I would do that all the time if someone would prepare it for me like that. I have never had smoothies that good or salads that fresh and wonderful. My husband, ate the regular offerings (he couldn't do without meat) and loved every meal. I loved the Thai Boxing, of course followed up with a massage made it even better. I think this should be a must for everyone going on safari - two days or more at the spa at the end of your trip. You need to do it at the end, as every place else would be a let down after Karkloof - so save the best for last and finish your time in South Africa with a real treat - Karkloof spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Karkloof. We love hearing about Guests who experience all the activities that Karkloof offers. The detox and wellness program is such a wonderful offering and the Muay Thai boxing is exciting. Thank you for letting our audience know about it. We look forward to having you here again and I will let the team know how much you enjoyed their hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

As a tour operator and having been in the hospitality industry for the past 15 years, I have been to many luxury properties throughout Southern Africa. Karkloof is in a league of its own and is the kind of place that should be on everyone's bucket list. Unbelievable staff from the gateguard to the housekeeper - these guys were born into hospitality! Exceptional rooms with complete privacy and over the top luxuries... delicious food and oh yes, a completely timeless experience - meals can be enjoyed at any time during the day or night! The best Spa I have ever experienced with over 10 Thai therapists and about 17 treatment rooms....all included in a very reasonable rate! We loved every single minute even though it was rainy during our stay, the staff, management and owner treated us like royalty and they were all definitely a very important part of making our honeymoon FANTASTIC!! Go now! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which had a lot of steps but the view is spectacular and it has its own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Karkloof. We look forward to having you here again and hopefully the sun will be shining for you to enjoy all the offerings here at Karkloof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

An amazing place to escape to. Check in is from 08h00 and check out is up until 20h00 ... All menu's are available 24 hours per day, private game drives and private rangers are the standard offering. The price is for an exclusive but not expensive as the inclusions are unmatched ... the best part of our stay was the unlimited spa treatments (included in rate) which my wife tested to the max! We also did the 9km walk to the 100 meter + waterfall which was really beautiful. Looking forward to our next visit ...

Room Tip: Ask for Lovemore to guide you on a walk to the falls and have the coconut body scrub as one of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow! We were blown away by our short stay at Karkloof Spa. The service is outstanding and the people there make you feel like the most important person in the world. The game drives were fun and we had plenty time to check out everything we wanted and more. The Spa is outstanding - so quiet and serene and very professional. The fact that everything is included (all spa treatments, meals, wines,...) makes your stay so relaxing and enjoyable that the moment you'll leave the resort you'll plan your next stay already. Thanks especially to Carmen the fabulous manager, Lovemore our Ranger and all the wonderful people of the Resort.

Room Tip: there is no bad room but proximity to the Main Lodge is something we enjoyed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathiVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were staying at the Oyster box in Durban for a holiday and wanted to take a safari so we took the two hour drive and Im so glad we did. My only regret is that we didnt stay here a couple of nights.
Our guide on the safari was great. So helpful, kind and friendly. We saw black and white rhino, buffalo, leapord and the hippo amongst others. No lions and tigers but it is Durban.
For the afternoon we went to the spa. Oh, just beautiful. Its very Thai, the buildings, the spa itself, just oozes relaxation, luxury. Its very spacious and the treatments were amazing.

Me and my friend decided we must come back here for a girly weekend or bring partners for a romantic one. Didnt see inside the accommodation but they were well spread out across the property so privacy, peace and romantic seclusion would be optimal.

I always look at my trips with one question. Would i come here again and this one is a big yes if i am back in Durban or surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
7.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ukuthula Lodge
Ukuthula Lodge
#1 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Howick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ascot Bush Lodge
Ascot Bush Lodge
#3 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hilton Bush Lodge
The Hilton Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Hilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karkloof Safari Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkloof Safari Spa

Property: Karkloof Safari Spa
Address: Otto's Bluff Road, Pietermaritzburg 3231, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the cinematic splendor of the Karkloof Valley, this modern and contemporary wellness and wildlife retreat is enhanced with the big heart of African sensibility. Karkloof Safari Spa offers a selection of supreme secluded lodges complimented by the finest cuisine and impeccable international standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karkloof Safari Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karkloof Hotel Pietermaritzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing