We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is King”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karkloof Safari Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service is King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I spent the most wonderful weekend at Karkloof. They are masters of service and hospitality. I was pampered from the minute I stepped at reception on arrival to the personal send off from the staff and owner on departure. I was amazed by the attention to detail. World standard suitable for royalty!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
106
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

One of the guests wrote in the Karkloof Spa gust book: "If this is what heaven is like: We are ready." I could not have said it better. You are picked at the Durban airport and after about 1.5 hours you reach an amazing resort on an 18 hectare of woods, hills, river, and open land. You are greeted by Lawrence in a bungalow that only serves as a welcome center and you are transferred to your spacious private bungalow by a Landover that can also take you to the many game drives. Fred, the owner may greet you upon arrival or at dinner. If you come for one night: You can check in at 8 in the morning and leave at 8 in the evening of the next day and it is considered a one day visit. Throughout you can use the 60+ spa treatments as many times as you wish. You can go there at 9am and stay there till 9pm and experience many types of massages and treatments. That is if you give up game drives. You may have a driver with a car who can take you to see myriad of animals. The beauty of this place is that they only have vegetarian animals, so the major carnivores (lions, cheetah, leopard, wild dogs etc.) are not on site. But you come close and friendly to hippopotamuses, buffalos, rhinoceroses, giraffes, zebras, wild beasts, wart hogs, and many types of antelopes not to mention at least 100 birds. To top it all, you can eat any meal whenever you want it. If you want breakfast at 7pm: so be it. Two chefs are at anytime on site and they will serve you whatever meal you wish for at whatever time you wish for. Is and when you want wine you can go to the spa’s cellar and select your own wine. I did so and it was a spoiling experience.
But the best part is the staff. They compete on making you feel good. Each one wants to make sure that what they have to offer is of the best quality and fits your needs. They are welcoming and constantly trying to make your vacation as perfect as can be. My wife and I were very sad to leave and dream of coming back.

Room Tip: Come early and leave late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This three day holiday has been the highlight of our trip to SA.
Amazing service..........
Amazing food..........
And heavenly spa treatments...unlimited at that.
The practice of having meals when you want, chef's catering to dietary requirement were above par
Our introduction to the 'raw' menu was great
The game drives were fantastic and the birding was great with a knowledgeable and patient guide ' Freedom"
Fred, has seen to it that there is a a 'heaven' on earth !!
THANK YOU for all your kindness and efforts in making this a great holiday for us

Room Tip: Ask for Freedom as your guide enjoy the chef's 'raw' menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Karkloof Safari Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa. With so many choices in our country, we are so glad that you chose to stay at "Africa's Best Kept Secret - Karkloof". It was such a pleasure sharing our "Timelessness" experience with you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

People are so nice and very profesionel. Thank you Keny, Suzane and sorry for the rest of the team but many thanks to everybody. Also many thanks to Frederic.
Everything is perfect to the Karkloof SPA.
Sofia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Karkloof Spa can definitely be rated as one of South Africa's top accommodation establishments. In addition to the high standards found at the Lodge the spa is also one of the best to be found in South Africa. Karkloof offers a fantastic all round experience when it comes to hospitality and spa facilities. The rooms are very spacious and attention to detail prevails. The staff are extremely friendly and are always willing to accommodate your needs whatever they may be.
Besides the Spa option you can also go on game drives - whenever you wish. The driver and vehicle are at your disposal and there are no set times for activities. This is a great change from the set times of game activities at other lodges. Our driver drove us around a portion of the property. The views are spectacular. There are no predators on the property so therefore the game that you see are all very relaxed.
Definitely a Lodge that I would highly recommend if you are looking to get away from everything and be looked after in true professional style.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just arrived home from a 2 night stay at Karkloof Spa, www.karkloofspa.com. We both agree that this had been one of our best travel experiences to date. From the time you arrive, to the time you leave you are never left feeling anything less than royalty... There is no time... Whatever you want, When you want, is Karkloof's policy.... No is not an option... Breakfast at 10pm... Spa treatment at 2am... You name it, it is all possible.... The Spa and unlimited spa treatments is by far one of The Best...Thank-you Fred and your amazing team for an amazing week-end... We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The tranquillity of Karkloof Spa sinks into your bones in the first minute of sitting on the deck sipping a welcome glass of wine - or carrot juice, if that is your preference.

Peacefulness is the theme. If resting and renewing your body is what you have gone away for, you can spend your days at the spa, where nyala graze on the roof, and blue headed lizards peer at you while you have a hands-and-feet treatment. The spa staff are all Thai. Or, if birds and animals bring you tranquility, you can go on game drives, or bird-watching. I saw a Narina Trogon at Karkloof last week. I may not see another one in my lifetime. There is a brisk walk to a stunning waterfall if exercise is what calms your spirit. The food is delicious and varied, including intricate and tasty raw options, and good wine as well if you wish. You can also just sit - on the thatched verandah of your individual villa or the communal deck, in the library, next to the pool - and breathe in the peace of the scenery: mountains, river, indigenous forest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
7.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ukuthula Lodge
Ukuthula Lodge
#1 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Howick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ascot Bush Lodge
Ascot Bush Lodge
#3 of 26 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hilton Bush Lodge
The Hilton Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Hilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karkloof Safari Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkloof Safari Spa

Property: Karkloof Safari Spa
Address: Otto's Bluff Road, Pietermaritzburg 3231, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the cinematic splendor of the Karkloof Valley, this modern and contemporary wellness and wildlife retreat is enhanced with the big heart of African sensibility. Karkloof Safari Spa offers a selection of supreme secluded lodges complimented by the finest cuisine and impeccable international standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karkloof Safari Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karkloof Hotel Pietermaritzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing