We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”
Review of Ghost Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were passing through and only stayed a night. Rooms are beautifully styled. Age of building shows and roof needs attention. Good range of dstv channels. Fully reliant on bar and restaurant - i.e no place for own food/drink. Staff professional. Food ok - burger was good, but butternut wrap lacked 3 key ingredients listed on menu. Not tasty. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    141
    35
    9
    0
See reviews for
80
191
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in December. Our room was 39 and looked onto the garden. The garden is well kept and manicured. There are beautiful palms and alo Vera plants.
The rooms have recently been redecorated however the rooms show there age with the holes in the wall and the aging ceiling cornices.
There is both a shower and a bath.
The bed is large however again it's showing age and compressed on the bottom due to heavy usage and lack of mattress turning.
The breakfast is buffet and is included in the room price, there are ham, cheese and rolls. Also there is a hot buffet with bacon, sausage, mushrooms etc. you can order omelets with onion, mushrooms and cheese. The omelets are not cooked so well.
The dinner is also buffet and costs 200 rand per person. The soup and starters are of good quality. The main is a different story. The beef is cheap quality and rubbery. The lamb is nice and the chicken I personally didn't trust.
The veranda area is beautiful and well kept. We purchased a bottle of wine which had turned vinegary due to heat and sun exposure however when this was highlighted the bottle was exchanged immediately with no question.
Conclusion - a beautiful old lodge that has a few issues.
On the whole recommended, maybe try eating dinner else where.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I both stayed at GMI mid November after a tough ride through Mozambique. We were welcomed by friendly staff and had all the luxuries we could possibly need. That evening we sat down to a lovely dinner accompanied by traditional Zulu choir - What a lovely touch!! Sean and his team really went the extra mile for us and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Anch0r_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here as part of our Grand Tour of South Africa, via Ilios Travel. Staff were first class - professional, friendly, knowledgeable and great fun. Jean and her team were really great, including Adam the Ranger. Wonderful views from the intimate jetty area, great food and service made our short stay a really great and memorably experience. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatts Village, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at Ghost Mountain Inn during a multi-week package tour, and were immediately impressed with the surroundings and the ambience. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and the resident guide, Jean, was a great source of information on the local area. The food quality was excellent, with only a minor exception in that the supper boxes we were provided for our night game drive were not as well planned as we might have liked, and ended up being very messy to eat. The rooms were large, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with pictures of local Zulu art. Ghost Mountain was ideal for trips to the Zululand Game Park and Hluhluwe game park, both of which offer abundant wildlife and grand scenery and we will be delighted to include GMI in our plans for future trips to KwaZulu Natal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and superb staff Nothing was too much trouble for them Food at breakfast and dinners wonderful Pool area with plenty of loungers and chairs Pleasant walk down to the jetty at the lake If you go up Ghost Mountain on the excursion however hot it seems when you leave take a coat as the temperature can drop by 20 degrees while you are there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fun, upbeat, friendly and impeccable service…this is my favourite country inn in Kwazulu natal totally feel at home when here. Brillinat birding in the garden, even found a Greater Bushbaby, awesome deck stretching out into the river. Thanks Jean and the team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianBoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks Christian = always great to have you and your guests around. We love your enthusiasm for the small things around us. It makes my day to have guests bounding into my office to tell me about bush baby and special bird sightings. Looking forward to seeing you again. Jean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
17.9 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
24 reviews
13.5 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
8.1 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Mkuze
363 reviews
22.3 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghost Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Mountain Inn

Property: Ghost Mountain Inn
Address: Fish Eagle Road, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghost Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the legendary Ghost Mountain lies the privately owned 4 Star Ghost Mountain Inn, a perfect setting for taking time out to relax and experience the charms of Africa in comfort and style. This intimate and beautiful hotel is in the heart of South Africa's Zulu Kingdom and is the ideal location from which to explore the array of wildlife and coastal reserves in northern KwaZulu Natal. Relax in one of tastefully appointed, en suite bedrooms or take in the golden African sunset from your very own garden patio. The Inn provides good food and friendly service either in the air conditioned restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the expansive grounds and indigenous gardens. Nature enthusiasts will appreciate the abundance of wildlife and the scenic splendours of this rich and diverse region, either as a self-drive or In the company of Ghost Mountain Safaris' knowledgeable rangers. Safari offerings include game drives and hikes in Mkhuze and Hluhluwe game reserves to see the big five, boat cruises and tiger fishing on Lake Jozini, Zulu cultural excursions and acclaimed birding in one of Southern Africa's top birding destinations with over 450 species. Escape and be pampered at the Ghost Mountain Spa. Offering a range of treatments utilising organic eco certified African skincare products, a steamroom, relaxation area with private plung pool, healthy lunches and an exercise facility for the more actively-inclined. For those travelling to southern Mozambique, or between Kruger Park, Swaziland and Durban, Ghost Mountain Inn makes an excellent stopover or memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ghost Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghost Mountain Hotel Mkuze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing