We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mavela Magic”
Review of Mavela Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavela Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Superb facility run by exceptional people at competitive rates!
A big thank you to Brad, Chantelle, Andre and the ladies for all the effort that was expended on the game drives and in the kitchen to make our stay most enjoyable amd memorable.
Compliments also to the owners for their taste in wines - much appreciated!!
Good to meet Peter and Margie and to chat over breakfast on our last day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantelle S, Manager at Mavela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your great review, it was lovely hosting you and your family! We look forward to seeing you at the Rhino adventure ride, till next time From the Mavela family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Absolute awesome stay Brad and Andre were wonderful. Food excellent thanks Chantelle. Highlights were the big 5 absolutely brilliant. Hospitality great from cleaning staff up. Good value for money will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantelle S, Manager at Mavela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your great review and look forward to seeing you soon! You guys were such wonderful people. Regards to all the family at home and in Australia, hope to see Roxy in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This exclusive lodge provide a very special wildlife experience. The food was special, the lodge hosts were great, and the guide was extraordinary (he really made every effort for us to see our long awaited siting, a leopard). In just two days we saw 81 bird species and 20 other animals! Fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautifully located overlooking the lovely mountains and bushveld, this lodge is definitely worth visiting. The safari tents give you the feel of the bush, but with the luxury! The hospitality was great, as was the food, but what makes this lodge really fantastic are the knowledgable and professional rangers, who provide safe, comfortable and interesting game drives. The birding is great. This is my 3rd visit, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zandy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a fabulous 3 days at Mavela Game Lodge. Andre, our Game Ranger, was incredibly knowledgeable and so entertaining. The bush came alive under his guidance. The food and hospitality were wonderful and the luxury tented rooms were fabulous. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The entire Mavela experience was amazing. The hospitality, food and accommodation are great. The fact that there is limited accommodation makes the experience more intimate & personal. Peter and Margie are great hosts. Andre is a wonderful guide - it was such a privilege to be in the bush with him. We look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rjlaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Awesome stay at Mavela for our 6th year Anniversary!
Lovely food and such a stunning lodge! Will definitely be back!!!!!
The tents are exquisite and the game drives were excellent! Really enjoyed every second! Felt so at home! :) Peter, Margie and Andre, you guys were excellent! Thanks again for making our weekend so special!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
6.9 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
458 reviews
0 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
6.8 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mkuze
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
1.4 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavela Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavela Game Lodge

Address: Po Box 461 | Zululand Rhino Reserve, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mkuze
Price Range: $460 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mavela Game Lodge is an intimate tented bush camp offering authentic safaris to birding enthusiasts, nature lovers and game watchers alike. Mavela Game Lodge is located within the 22 000 ha Zululand Rhino Reserve in the north of KwaZulu-Natal. The reserve is home to the big five as well as healthy general wildlife populations. It also offers superb birding opportunities due to the wide variety of habitats and birdlife within the reserve. The lodge has five comfortable guest tents each with a private deck offering beautiful views over the surrounding bushveld. The en-suite guest tents are tastefully decorated, complete with ceiling fans and in-room tea & coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mavela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing