We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon road trip across SA”
Review of Beachcomber Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Ranked #2 of 25 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. My other half is very tall and so on arrival we got a complementary upgrade to a superb room with an ocean view and ... a great BIG bed. One of the best nights in SA with waves bashing below lullying us to sleep. The nearby beach (accessed through the bottom of the garden) was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pvanbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, I hope the rest of your honeymoon was great.
regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had the most amazing holiday at the Beachcomber B&B. The view was magnificent & the accommodation was good value for money. The staff were most helpful & friendly. The owners were hospitable & always were willing to give us information for our needs. We were out of the hustle bustle & enjoyed the total relaxation of the pool & quiet beach- which was close by. We recommend this B&B & hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mel_kur18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you Mel and Sharon for your great review - most appreciated.
We enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had a wonderful stay in this bnb. Warm welcome from the owner and the staff. Also the activities were well explained to me. I would recommend it to other people and I will come back to stay if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vusumuzi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you taking time to write a review on Beachcomber Bay and thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return
Regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A small guesthouse with a family atmosphere. Nice and clean, personal rooms. Wonderful view from the garden. Very good breakfeast and good service from the personnel. Friendly and nice owners. We will come back!


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Carina
So nice to read your review - thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your stay with us and trust you had a great time in Hluhluwe and a good journey home.
We look forward to your return to Beachcomber Bay in the future
Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This beautiful place is where any couple can relax and enjoy the seabreeze, the sound of the breaking waves and enjoy the hilltop view over the ocean. Receive excellent hospitality. Worth every cent spent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi Devin
So please you enjoyed your stay and returned home relaxed. Thank you for your super review - most appreciate your taking the time to submit.
we look forward to your return
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our fist visit to margate for myself, my husband and our 2 kids. The ocean view from beachcomber bay left the kids amazed after our holiday. The view from our room was also great. Our stay was amazing will definatly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue-ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were welcomed by a friendly lady who showed us to our room and gave us information about the location we can go and have fun to. our morning meals was served by ladies full of smile and life. the room was cleaned everyday and we never missed any items, the place is save and relaxing. I enjoyed the pool the most situated in front of my room, we could walk to the beach. Beachcomber bay is the place to be I will surely visit them again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mpho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
7.3 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#3 of 25 in Margate
56 reviews
12.1 mi away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 6 in Ramsgate
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Bay

Address: 75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range: $64 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mediterranean style Guesthouse decorated in an African theme is superbly positioned on the border of Margate and Ramsgate overlooking the warm Indian Ocean. This tranquil venue is less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of Margate, an ideal position for both business and leisure.Beachcomber Bay is situated on a hilltop with superb breaker and sea views and private access to golden beaches. . Enjoy warm hospitality, personal service and sumptuous breakfasts. Guests may enjoy a refreshing sauna, a spa bath or sunbathe on the pool deck or patios, (where the seasonal whale, dolphin, and sardine runs may be viewed) or partake in a host of activities, and scenic drives.Beachcomber Bay is within easy reach of eight PGA rated golf courses, including Selborne Country Club, South Broom Golf Club, San Lameer Country Club and the Wild Coast Sun Country Club which are rated in the top 50 courses in South Africa.A host of activities and a variety of restaurants are easily accessible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachcomber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing