We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation 2012”
Review of Beachcomber Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Ranked #2 of 24 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice location.
Hosts - excellent
Aircon and new mattresses should be considered
Self service breakfast (if possible) should be considered
The front of the guest house facing the sea has an excellent view. The rooms facing the sea directly are the ones you should book to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Riaan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Hi Riaan
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We shall certainly consider your suggestions
regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Owners Sharon & Trevor excellent hosts. Breakfast exceptional and ambience of property first class .Would definately return when we return to South Africa in the future.Unfortunately we could only stay one night this time as we were en-route to Durban

Room Tip: Room 6 was absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you Kenneth - we look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night on our way from Durban to East London. We were upgraded from room 2 to room 5. The room was gigantic, with a sitting area and en suite bathroom. There is one long wall of the room that is all windows, which looks over the pool and the beach, and then another wall with a big door wall. We relaxed in the room and read books while looking out on the beach, ocean, and rocks. On the one morning we were there we walked down to the beach, I went for a run and my boyfriend walked around and took pictures. It was lovely.
Breakfast was yummy. The muffins were amazing!! Next time I am only eating muffins with butter and a few cups of coffee.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, which is very big, but not the room for people that want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brussel_Sprout81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw for stay at Beachcomber Bay. We will remember to bake extra muffins for your exclusive breakfast next time
regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had never stayed on the KZN South coast so decided to visit in July. Two reasons, some winter sun and the chance of seeing sardines. The Beachcomber Bay was great for the beach and handy for Margate town centre. The weather was in the early 20's and warm everyday. I explored up and down the coast and visited several other seaside resorts. Sadly there were no sardines. The greatest shoal on earth did not arrive during my 4 days. I spoke to people daily who had seen sardines being netted in the two weeks prior to my arrival. People had also seen dolphins in the surf and whales breaching. I was not so lucky but enjoyed my stay. The hotel itself was just right for a short stay and the traditional English breakfast gave the day a kick start.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafariKZN-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Hi Mark
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Beachcomber Bay. Hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer in the area next time the sardines are running - a magnificent spectacle.
Keep well
regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I have visited Beachcomber Bay several times during the last 5 years, and it has always been a pleasure. Great place, great house and above all the hosts - Trevor and Sharon - is just some wonderfull persons that make sure you enjoy your stay. So whenever you're in Ramsgate (or Margate) try and stay at this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the penthouse suite at no extra cost. Huge room with large sun room and balcony. Great view of deserted beach 80 yards away.
Visit the Blue Lagoon restaurant for beachfront delicious meals.
Good location for visiting crocodile park (nice crocodile kebabs!), Oribi Gorge and Leopard Rock coffee shop with spectacular views.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyHemsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank ManuFranci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
7.3 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albatros Guest House
0.4 mi away
Costa Smeralda
Costa Smeralda
#1 of 14 in Margate
30 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Bay

Address: 75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range: $56 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mediterranean style Guesthouse decorated in an African theme is superbly positioned on the border of Margate and Ramsgate overlooking the warm Indian Ocean. This tranquil venue is less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of Margate, an ideal position for both business and leisure.Beachcomber Bay is situated on a hilltop with superb breaker and sea views and private access to golden beaches. . Enjoy warm hospitality, personal service and sumptuous breakfasts. Guests may enjoy a refreshing sauna, a spa bath or sunbathe on the pool deck or patios, (where the seasonal whale, dolphin, and sardine runs may be viewed) or partake in a host of activities, and scenic drives.Beachcomber Bay is within easy reach of eight PGA rated golf courses, including Selborne Country Club, South Broom Golf Club, San Lameer Country Club and the Wild Coast Sun Country Club which are rated in the top 50 courses in South Africa.A host of activities and a variety of restaurants are easily accessible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beachcomber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing