We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bush retreat central to local attractions”
Review of Malala Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malala Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 6 nights here. We opted for their 3 night safari special, with the additional nights also on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis. The property itself is in a bush setting. There are plenty of animals here, although no predators or larger animals so it is quite safe to walk around. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room, with a separate kitchen / sitting area & 2 bathrooms (one off each room) Although the rooms were not huge, and the bathrooms quite small, they were more than adequate for our needs and were spotlessly cleaned. The only thing I found a little strange was that there was a separate entrance to the main bedroom - you needed to walk outside and enter the other door to access the living and kitchen area. Not a big issue, but the coffee was in there! You have an option to self cater if you prefer, however we decided to let others do the cooking. Jane & Paul looked after the food, which was plentiful, healthy & delicious. (Although we did manage to create big dents in the desserts each night!). Peter, as well as taking us on a game drive, manned the bar each night. He was a great host who was happy to talk to us and imparted a great deal of knowledge. He was very patient in answering our many questions about the animals and he was also great fun. Between them, Peter, Jane & Paul were fantastic hosts where nothing was too much trouble. A special thanks must go to Jane for organising some day trips for us. She went out of her way to get the information and arranged everything for us. Much appreciated. If you are looking for clean accommodation, with great meals and company, which is central to all the attractions in the area, then this is the place. It is certainly not 5 star or in the middle of a game reserve, but the people and the friendliness here more than compensate.

Room Tip: All rooms are separate so everyone has plenty of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crouchie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great stay and the honour to be with our family of 9 persons for 2 days in Malala Lodge. The location is great. Just a small drive from the Hluhluwe - Imfolozi game park but as well many other very interesting places. Friendly people like Jane, Paul en Pete you can hardly find anymore. They really host you in a very good way. Jane and Paul have very much experience in the kitchen. So meals were too good and too delicious! The lodges were very clean and very well equipped. Unfortunate we did not have the time to make a game drive with Pete. He has very much experience and nobody should miss this fact. For sure we will come back friends.
Advise to anybody who travel around this area. Don't miss a stay at Malala Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently treated my parents (who live in Durban) and myself (UK) to a two night safari special at Malala Lodge. On arrival we were met by Jane who showed us to our chalet, which was spotlessly clean and simply but elegantly decorated. We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and were entertained by a troop of monkeys. That evening before supper we had pre-dinner drinks in the bar and were served by Pete, husband of Jane. My aged parents and myself disgraced ourselves by drinking far too much red wine, but we were thoroughly enjoying our surrounds and the peacefulness of the lodge. Supper was served by Jane and Paul ( son of Pete & Jane) and what can I say but the following: it was superb. We were the only guests and had the wonderfully rustic dinning room to ourselves and there certainly was no stinginess in the portions available to us. The night passed uneventfully and breakfast the next morning was equally impressive. I cannot fault the catering. It was outstanding. The chalets are serviced by very polite staff. In the afternoon we went for our game drive with Pete, who was a most attentive host. It was quite a challenge getting my parents onto the safari truck as my dad is practically blind and couldn't see where to put his feet and my mom is a little overweight and found it difficult to hoist herself up! It was rather funny and Pete was extremely patient. Although we did not see many animals (many other game park experiences previously undertaken) Pete was very informative about the ones we did see, and for us that made our drive all the more memorable. We stopped at one point for tea and divine homemade muffins. Really enjoyed that. That evening another fine meal was followed by breakfast on the day of our departure. Paul, Jane and Pete were utterly gracious hosts and made us feel most welcome. This was our first stay in a lodge, normally we stay in the game parks themselves, and I cannot fault our experience. It was a lovely two day break and made all the better by the hosts. You will not regret it should you decide to stay at Malala Lodge.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank LCB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Malala lodge lived up to all the great reviews and so now i can add! I chose to take my parents there for their 60th birthday treat. Pete, Jane and Paul (the hosts) helped to make it a wonderful treat by accommodating all our needs. We had a tight schedule and wanted to go to Hluhluwe and St Lucia so the location was perfect. We took the two day Safari package.
The lodge itself was very relaxing and our hosts really did make us feel at home and welcome with lots of personal touches which is why i rate the lodge as excellent. The home cooked food caters was excellent and our safari ride with Pete was brilliant. His knowledge of the Big 5 is excellent which is probably why we nearly saw them all in the first 5 minutes.

Room Tip: They are all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 912Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We took our adult daughters and a friend from Johannesburg for a one night stay at Malala, inclusive of a game drive in the Hluhluwe Park with Pete as our guide. The stay at the lodge was excellent again (this being our second visit) with delicious home-cooked food in abundance. Our hosts were perfectly attentive, yet gave our group a feeling of privacy. The rondavels were clean and warm - this being the middle of winter - and well equipped. Our game drive was wonderful and, even tho we did not see any ellies, we saw an abundance of rhino (approx 16) with the hi-lite being a mom and her young calf right next to the road where we sat and watched them for ages. Thanks again to the Harvey family and we hope to see you again soon. Lindy N

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I choose Malala after reading all the positive reviews in this forum & they are true.we choose the safari package which offers a 3 hrs game drive by Pete & a 2 hrs boat cruise on St Lucia.

I had requested veg diet for myself & am really happy that Jane catered to my need for all three days with exclusive veg starters & main course.

Malala is near the Cheetah Rehabilition centre & Duma Zulu Lodge which are also main attraction of Hluhluwe.

they have few zebras,duikers & wildebeast on property & my kids found a baby rock python near the dining hall which made their day.

a lots of birds to the birds could be seen around the family cottage ,the glass panes were so clean that many a birds banged themself on it.

we had a good time & plan to repeat the experience in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pragati9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Jane and Paul very much. They are excellent houstes and served very good food. The small private game reserve is in good shape and close enough to the Hluhluwe National Park. The game drive with Pete was very intersting and he knew the places where the animals hide. Thanks a lot for this wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
6.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
155 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 33 in Hluhluwe
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 33 in Hluhluwe
166 reviews
8 mi away
Falaza Game Park & Spa
Falaza Game Park & Spa
#6 of 33 in Hluhluwe
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#4 of 33 in Hluhluwe
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malala Lodge

Address: Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malala is a bush lodge on a 140 hectare (340 acre) private nature reserve, accommodating a maximum of only 18 guests, thereby ensuring a tranquil African bush atmosphere and experience. Our lodge is located in the Hluhluwe area, in the centre of the Elephant Coast in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. We are ideally positioned between the world-renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. Malala has been owned and managed by the Harvey family since 2001 and we, together with an enthusiastic team of staff, are always on hand to provide the personal attention one would associate with a small intimate lodge. Our property has a variety of vegetation types, including lowland forest, woodland, grasslands and wetlands. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll through these diverse habitats on well-maintained and marked walking trails. You may come across some of our game, which includes Zebra, Blue Wildebeest, Impala, Nyala, Reedbuck and Red and Grey Duiker. In addition, Malala Lodge is at the centre of the birding hotspot of KwaZulu-Natal with over 500 species of bird having been recorded in the Elephant Coast area. The Malala Lodge birdlist currently has over 270 recorded species. The main thatched lodge is centrally positioned within the camp and overlooks indigenous forest. Here guests can enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy bush pub or take a dip in the palm-fringed swimming pool. Meals are available, by prior arrangement, in the lodge dining room: - Dinner is a home-styled three-course set menu with cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee; and - Breakfast is a full English breakfast including cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and tea/coffee. Adjoining the dining room is a small reading lounge where a variety of magazines and books are available for your interest. Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis or, if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals in the attractive thatched dining room. Our accommodation, which nestles within the forest fringe, comprises: - Four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets are 1-bedroom units which can accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. - A semi-detached chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, separate lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing. - Two family cottages each comprising two bedrooms (en-suite), lounge and kitchenette and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. These units accommodate family groups of up to 4. - A family cottage comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. This large unit accommodates a family group of up to 5. All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided. We provide game drives, by prior arrangement, in our open game-viewing vehicle into the world renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, providing guests with a superb opportunity of viewing a multitude of mammals, birds, reptiles and plants. Other activities include: - Self-drive day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkelling, diving and whale watching. - Walking and horse trails through nearby parks and reserves. - Cultural Zulu Village tours - gain firsthand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing