We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short a stay to really get an impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falaza Game Park & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We only stayed one night enroute from Ermelo to Ballito. We didn't need the game park experience, just good clean beds and a decent meal - strangely, despite there being very few tourists in the area, more appropriate accom (i.e. no game reserve) would only accept 2 night reservations ! Staff were pleasant, tent was very spacious,clean and comfortable and the Spa did a good massage. The food was acceptable, but as there were only 4 guests dining, very little atmosphere. The pool did look dirty/in need of work. Avoid the N2 like the plague - very extensive road works/heavy lorries that added 2 1/2 hours to a 3hr Garmin estimate from Ermelo to Falaza.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Falaza Game Park & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 231 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

Absolutely loved the place. Staff was terrific, food was good, accomadation amazing

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitRaetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Private and exclusive feel. Beautiful rooms and set in the actual reserve with animals wandering through. Bird life will wake you in the mornings it is so prolific. Good cuisine of a standard we expected. Very friendly staff, with good knowledge. Spa is recommended. Perfect for a few days away from the Rat Race! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveclaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stayed here on the 26th December 2010
We had originally called in earlier in the week and booked two nights and repeatedly queried whether the resort was child friendly as we would be travelling with two children under 4 years of age. We were told that it was a child friendly resort.

I am a local South African and frequent the Hluhluwe area at least twice a year as its an excellent family destination. I am also accustomed to luxury accommodation on my local and international travels.

The good
The tent is something unique and different to experience. The quality of the finishes are really excellent and the feeling of waking up in the morning in the bush was the only highlight of our stay. The outside shower and bath were also pleasant.
The gardens are very well manicured, the spa is world class (very few hotels in the area have a spa) and the entire resort definitely has an upmarket feel to it as far as the finishes goes

The bad
Upon arriving at 9pm, we were shown to our rooms accommodatingly enough, and found a large squashed bug in the centre of the bed. One would expect this, being in the bush, but was was unacceptable was that the room attendant had to be coerced into remaking our bedding
After this, we moved off to dinner. This was a bad idea as the waiter looked tired, listless and disinterested. This should have been a clue to us because the soup was watery, the dessert was frozen and the mains selection was so few (like 5 items) that nothing was palatable to us. We then asked for toasted cheese and tomato sandwiches which took an eternity to get to us.
Management of this “child friendly” resort left an African drum and drumsticks in the dining area so my kids decided to try it out. One of the game rangers gently but firmly told my kids where to get off with this. I am all for keeping the quiet for other guests (there were only 10 other people there) but we did not appreciate this, as we believe the game ranger should have approached us as parents and asked us to reign the kids in. We did not appreciate anyone disciplining our two year old on holiday, no matter how nicely done
We promptly went back to our tents to retire for the night. Unfortunately the shower was broken and this caused the bathroom to flood. We were too tired to do anything about it and spent the night visiting the loo with wet feet.
Next morning we went to breakfast and was disappointed by the results. Which 4 star hotel has no croissants, no danishes, no extensive fruit selection, concentrate juice (not pure)?? Everything to order is a la carte and when we eventually ordered the food, the quality was poor
A few other review writers have complained about the quality of food, but it really is atrocious, so pack extra lunch because other options in Hluhluwe are limited
We then decided to check out and go to one of the other resorts in the area which we frequent (Ubizane, Ghost Mountain Inn, Protea Hotel,)
It didn’t end there. Once I told the manager we were leaving because of our experience, I was told that I was going to be charged for the second night because they could have sold that room and also because I was half an hour past the check out time. I just shook my shoulders and returned to the room. My wife was angry by now (as she had done the booking) and went to the reception and kicked up a fuss with the manager and supervisor and even became abusive but to no avail. Eventually, we settled on half the price for the second night and got out of there. I apologised to the supervisor but stressed my point that one should not be charged for something if we didn’t enjoy it. She asked me to write a report and she will look into it. I emailed her a report after the incident, and have not yet had a reply
Summary
Poor service, poor food, poor location but the facilities are decent. This place is ok for a honeymoon or retired couple. Do not go here if you have children. Rather look at Ubizane Wildlife reserve as its excellent for family holidays

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imraan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Falaza is a private Game Reserve with its focus more on luxury accomodation than on diversity of animals. It's park is about 400ha. We did a bushwalk there which was quite interesting. I would recommend falaza as a complement to other parks but if you only visit one park and want to see all animals including predators then you should go somewhere else.
The accomodation (luxury tent) with outdoor shower and bath and the service are perfect. Everything is so nice and you will definately love it if you need some time to relax (e.g. when you are on a long trip through South Africa with many stops). Food was also very good.
Falaza is a half hour drive away from Hluhluwe Nationalipark.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulfmertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Although Falaza is a very small game reserve, the area is very nice. Game drives are possible, you will see rhinos, giraffes etc. but no cats, as the area is too small. However, Hluhluwe is very close to the lodge, I would definitely recommend doing some drives in the park as well. Falaza has very nice tents to sleep in, so you can hear the animals at night. And: you might spot rhinos directly in fron of your tent, as there are no fences!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steppi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed for three nights in the middle of November and honestly wished we could have stayed for more. The friendly atmosphere at Falaza became apparent from the moment we parked the car and were greeted by some of the Reception staff.
Check-in was very efficient and our baggage was whisked away to our luxury tent before we knew it.
Bar and open plan restaurant facilities were really good, lending themselves to the game park atmosphere. The informative chat we had with one of the Rangers over pre-dinner drinks on the first evening gave us a good idea of the great time we were about to experience.
The quality and quantity of the food and wine could not be faulted, even down to the picnic lunch/tea served during a game reserve drive.
Both of the resident Game Rangers were very friendly and knowledgeable with regard to the wildlife in the game reserves, whether on water or land.
We were both really sorry to have to leave, but Isandlwana beckoned.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capercaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
8.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
5.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
3.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 32 in Hluhluwe
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falaza Game Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falaza Game Park & Spa

Address: Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $150 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falaza Game Park & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falaza is a luxury tented safari lodge, located 3 hours north of Durban and neighboring the St Lucia Wetlands World Heritage Site and the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve. Falaza is set on an 800 hectare game reserve comprising primordial sand forests. Safaris can be undertaken on foot or game viewing vehicle, or by boat on the Mzinene River. Game drives can also be arranged into the nearby Big Five Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Falaza Game Park & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falaza Game Park Hotel Hluhluwe
Falaza Game Park And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing