We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildibess”
Review of Wildebees Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wildebees Ecolodge
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wildibess”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this lodge because the photos showed the character of the place and the price was affordable.Upon check in we were greeted by a very friendly staff as well as the owners of the lodge and taken to our room. We booked in the family cottage and on entry found a beautiful arrangement of flowers on the bed spelling out "enjoy your stay" . It was such a nice touch we loved it.
They soon prepared dinner for us and served up on the patio with a fire in the pit and candle light. Because it was the off season we were the only ones there and had our own private dinner under the stars. The food was amazing and the service just as good. Before heading off to our cottage we were told there was a Leopard seen on the night camera on the property and not to do any night or early morning bush walks, how exciting!
After a good nights rest my husband was in the bathroom shaving and looked out the window to find himself eye to eye with a Nyla buck looking through the window. We all rushed to see it and had another nice visit from the monkeys playing with their babies. We went for a nice morning bush walk then headed for breakfast. I cannot say I left feeling hungry.
We loved our stay, it is not a flash hotel but rather a true African feel with lovely staff always there to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
44
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We weren't quite sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and helpful. "Nelson" the resident cat made us feel at home! Accommodation is rather rustic but very clean and comfortable. Sitting around the fire in the Boma while waiting for dinner to be served was quite special. Breakfasts and dinners were tasty and of very good quality. The Zulu dancing show organised by the staff members the night before we left was memorable and was a lovely way of ending our stay in Zululand.
Apart from evening bush walks with a local guide, no other excursions are offered on Wildebees Ecolodge's premises. However, their staff members gladly assist guests in making bookings on excursions which are on offer in and around Hluhluwe, Mkuze and St Lucia/Cape Vidal. Definitely worth a visit. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful place, tropical garden with scattered simple huts, a bar/restaurant and little pool. We had the family house, lovely prepared with flowers all over. Tours offered are expensive compared to the place itself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimoio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This turned out to be an excellent base for touring the area around Hluhluwe. The chalets are very comfortable and management makes efforts with small touches (eg flowers on the beds) to raise the standard beyond what might be expected in this price range. The young staff team was excellent – welcoming, efficient and helpful. Although we made good use of the self-catering facilities, we did try the restaurant. Dinner was beautifully set out with a fire nearby to keep us warm on a cool night. The food was okay, nothing more. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozEcoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent place, very friendly staff, we had a great stay! Highly recommended! We rented a car at the airport of Durban. It was a 3 hour drive. The Hluhluwe safaripark was a great experience. Also other parks were nearby and very nice to visit, e.g. a boat tour in st Lucia.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

All the staff members hospitality was so grate that i would surely call again. They made me feel a warm anvironment and comfort. The prices at the Bar were so much reasonable and the staff keeps us welcome. A very good understanding from the Staff incluiding the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Njabulo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very helpful staff member that attended to us wen we arrived his name was martin and during stay everything we need was at hand
mattress in room was not very comfy and the mosquito net did not serve its purpose

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jayne anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
4.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
151 reviews
7.8 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 mi away
Sand Forest Lodge
Sand Forest Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebees Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Property: Wildebees Ecolodge
Address: False Bay Road C20 (D540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing