We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildebees Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wildebees Ecolodge
2 reviews
“Wonderfull!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent place, very friendly staff, we had a great stay! Highly recommended! We rented a car at the airport of Durban. It was a 3 hour drive. The Hluhluwe safaripark was a great experience. Also other parks were nearby and very nice to visit, e.g. a boat tour in st Lucia.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
44
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

All the staff members hospitality was so grate that i would surely call again. They made me feel a warm anvironment and comfort. The prices at the Bar were so much reasonable and the staff keeps us welcome. A very good understanding from the Staff incluiding the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Njabulo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very helpful staff member that attended to us wen we arrived his name was martin and during stay everything we need was at hand
mattress in room was not very comfy and the mosquito net did not serve its purpose

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jayne anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great experience in Wildbee Ecolodge! Nice, clean accommodation with all facilities in place and some personal touch as well. Great location for exploring game reserves and parks: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi, Isimangaliso Wetlands and UMkhuze all within easy reach. And most importantly: great staff! Helpful, hospitable and smiling - real pleasure to be hosted by you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank agatakozlowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Wildebees. The place is different from other accommodation I looked at in St Lucia for example. You really had the feeling of being far away from the city/town.The staff were wonderful, very helpful and accommodating. The dinner we had on the Saturday was delicious. We used the communal kitchen for all other meals. It was fine for our needs but the fridge is rather small and there was no space for the family who arrived the day after us. They were able to store their stuff in reception. I highly recommend the place for adults rather than young children as there are no activities for kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saloshni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem, Oost-vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

First time in South Africa, or Africa for that matter. The staff was friendly, the accomodation was exactly as described on the website. If I could make a suggestion : put a door in the bathroom. The shower was excellent though! Very good bed! We have not seen the owners altough we stayed 5 days and find the prices for WiFi way too high. Why not include it in the price of the room? Dinner was excellent. Wildebees is situated close to different parks which is always a good point! Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our second trip to the Ecolodge and again, everything was as we expected...WONDERFUL!

Staff were as accommodating as always and we noticed Chocsy (their horse) got a friend!
Dinner was unbelievable and their chef is really talented especially for the R140-00 per person that we paid for a 3-course meal.

Our accommodation was comfortable and clean, the attention to detail with the hibiscus and bouganvilla flowers scattered about always makes you feel like you've stepped into a honeymoon suite.

Thank you Martin, Marieka, Lesley and Martin Cele for always welcoming us with open arms, hearts and happy smiles!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HulaM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.8 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebees Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Property: Wildebees Ecolodge
Address: False Bay Road C20 (D540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing