We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best lodge we visited”
Review of Wildebees Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildebees Ecolodge
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We travelled for three weeks in SA and Wildebees was (by far) the the best lodge we visited (during 3 days). Marike and Martijn and all the mebers of their staff were very helpfull and friendly and even offered us a free upgrade. Lying in a beautiful natural surrounding theidr authentic lodges offered a quiet and peaceful feeling.
Our stay there was in oine word: GREAT!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Wildebees Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 160 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We, a fam. of 5 from CH, reserved 2 nights in the lodge. We ended up staying 5 as things couldn't get much better! The staff, the bungalow, the details, it really made things very special.
A special thanks to the "Kokkie / Cook" for the 4 star meals, the choice, presentation and small details. Not to forget the staff in general who helped us planning great excursions, took great care of our room and our welbeing in general. For us it's clear that whenever we have the privilidge to be in SA again we will absolutely visit this place again.

Room Tip: If you are coming with a fam, ask for lodge nr 15.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blub d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights and were rewarded with very friendly and competent service, excellent dinner, and good proximity to the tourist attractions in the area. Wish there were more places which offered this kind of hospitality at a price which locals can afford.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Please be aware, this is truly an ecolodge; it's not just their PR slogan. That means that being earth friendly is priority. Your room won't have air conditioning. You WILL see bugs and ghekos in your room. Maybe even a frog or a bat. So if you're looking for the Four Seasons, don't stay here. But, if you're looking for beautiful, natural surroundings in a stunning location, and like the fact that the earth around you is being cared for, this is an awesome place to stay!

In my opinion, the staff are what makes Wildebees great. We arrived late, around 11 p.m., and one of the staff members came out to our car with a huge smile on his face like we were long lost friends, and helped us get our bags out of the car. Once we deposited the bags at our rooms he led us to the bar area and told us they'd be happy to stay open a bit longer if we were hungry or thirsty or just wanted to hang out a bit before bed. Throughout our stay, this was the type of customer service we received. Absolutely top notch.

Also, we paid for breakfast to be included. At most places "breakfast included" means some fruit and stale pastries. We were pleasantly surprised to have a "sit down meal" of delicious food, including hot eggs and sausage, fruit, toast, cereal, rusks, juice and a bottomless pot of coffee.

Whenever we're back in this area, we'll definitely go back to Wildebees.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A very warm welcome, a fantastic dinner, a lovely bungalow; all and all a very relaxing and pleasant stay. The entire team of Wildebees (cats, dog and horse included) pampered us and made us enjoy our stay to the max. Hluhluwe/Imfolozi game park is nearby and definitely worth a visit. If you plan on visiting the St. Lucia/Hluhluwe region, Wildebees is a great starting-point.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berend b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

When arriving we were surprised we've got a better room than we reserved- thanks to the low season. And the bed and the bathroom were decorated with the flower leaves of the bougainville, that showed special attention and carefullness. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff was very friendly and competent.
And of course its a good basis to visit the highlights of this region.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I've stayed over at Wildebees Ecolodge on several occasions over the last few years, and I will keep coming back. Great hospitality, friendly staff and I just love the rusticness and feeling of sub-tropic bush ;)
It's more than affordable even for the budget traveller, kuiers over the bar and relaxing around the pool is great for unwinding after a day of travelling, working or visiting nearby game farms.
The "MELKTERT" is the best ever and they have no objections to handing out the recipe.
The only possible issue for working individuals might be the reception, there is only a little and at certain places, but I still love that, it gives me a break from reality!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madiatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
4.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 32 in Hluhluwe
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Forest Lodge
Sand Forest Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebees Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Address: False Bay Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $54 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing