We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars doesn't mean Four Seasons”
Review of Wildebees Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wildebees Ecolodge
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Five Stars doesn't mean Four Seasons”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Please be aware, this is truly an ecolodge; it's not just their PR slogan. That means that being earth friendly is priority. Your room won't have air conditioning. You WILL see bugs and ghekos in your room. Maybe even a frog or a bat. So if you're looking for the Four Seasons, don't stay here. But, if you're looking for beautiful, natural surroundings in a stunning location, and like the fact that the earth around you is being cared for, this is an awesome place to stay!

In my opinion, the staff are what makes Wildebees great. We arrived late, around 11 p.m., and one of the staff members came out to our car with a huge smile on his face like we were long lost friends, and helped us get our bags out of the car. Once we deposited the bags at our rooms he led us to the bar area and told us they'd be happy to stay open a bit longer if we were hungry or thirsty or just wanted to hang out a bit before bed. Throughout our stay, this was the type of customer service we received. Absolutely top notch.

Also, we paid for breakfast to be included. At most places "breakfast included" means some fruit and stale pastries. We were pleasantly surprised to have a "sit down meal" of delicious food, including hot eggs and sausage, fruit, toast, cereal, rusks, juice and a bottomless pot of coffee.

Whenever we're back in this area, we'll definitely go back to Wildebees.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
44
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sneek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A very warm welcome, a fantastic dinner, a lovely bungalow; all and all a very relaxing and pleasant stay. The entire team of Wildebees (cats, dog and horse included) pampered us and made us enjoy our stay to the max. Hluhluwe/Imfolozi game park is nearby and definitely worth a visit. If you plan on visiting the St. Lucia/Hluhluwe region, Wildebees is a great starting-point.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berend b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

When arriving we were surprised we've got a better room than we reserved- thanks to the low season. And the bed and the bathroom were decorated with the flower leaves of the bougainville, that showed special attention and carefullness. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff was very friendly and competent.
And of course its a good basis to visit the highlights of this region.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I've stayed over at Wildebees Ecolodge on several occasions over the last few years, and I will keep coming back. Great hospitality, friendly staff and I just love the rusticness and feeling of sub-tropic bush ;)
It's more than affordable even for the budget traveller, kuiers over the bar and relaxing around the pool is great for unwinding after a day of travelling, working or visiting nearby game farms.
The "MELKTERT" is the best ever and they have no objections to handing out the recipe.
The only possible issue for working individuals might be the reception, there is only a little and at certain places, but I still love that, it gives me a break from reality!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madiatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Great locatie, beautifull surroundings and a relaxed atmosphere. We stayed here several times over the last few years and keep comming back.
We always have their breakfast and dinner arrangments. Both are great, esspecially the butternut soup and melktaart (milk pie).

The owners Marike and Martijn are really friendly and they will help you out with whatever you need.

The bungalows are widely spread and set in the "bush".

The lodge is located within short distance of Hluhluwe national park.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellev202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a fantastic lodge very near to Hluhluwe game reserve. The staff are really outstanding, totally beyond any in your 4 star hotels. From my million questions prior to arrival, to helping us out with activities during our stay and checking up with us how we enjoyed them afterwards. The rooms are really sweet, with flowers around the room and lovely bathrooms under the thatch roof. The pool was also great for cooling off and my little niece loved the wooden animals around the pool! And not to forget the fantastic food - someone really knows how to cook, every day we loved the delicious breakfasts and really top quality dinners.

Thanks all for a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The family bungalow is great with young children. The staff at Ecolodge were absolutly great. Very friendly and at all times helpful. They gave us tips about what to do in the area and helped organize. The mattresses could be a bit more comfy.

Room Tip: Second floor in the family room is perfect for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurkiThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.8 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebees Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Property: Wildebees Ecolodge
Address: False Bay Road C20 (D540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing