We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris
Nearby Hotels
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
63
67
18
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
67
18
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeself catering kitchenhluhluwe game reservelush vegetationfalse bayfriendly hostsluciaaccommodationafricanaturecottagegeneratordrivebomarangeranimals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 165 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had 4 wonderful days in this area - there are so many places to visit like the Lake St. Lucia, Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay National Park... The Wildebees Ecolodge is a perfect starting point for day trips. It is also really nice, we´ve got the gingerbread house, number 13.
In our lodge there was no kitchen but you´ve got the option to cook in the community kitchen or to have dinner in Wildebees Ecolodge. We tried both options. Both were fine!
Only the bats in our house were a bit disturbing.
But you feel that the accommodations were made with love.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

What a great little place.We stayed for 2 days and enjoyed the surrounding area and the hospitality very much.
The rooms were clean and tastefully done with wonderful attention to detail.We got a free upgrade without asking and stayed in cabin no;10 which had a four poster bed and a wonderful corner bath with a view into the garden and lazed with a cool drink,plenty of hot water and a visit from the local bird life.wonderful!!
In the evening we ordered dinner and were served an al fresco,candlelite, tasty 3 courses.The soup was the best we had the whole trip and we like soup!! I musn't forget to mention the outstanding service of Martin junior who's talents are wasted here really! A fine young man who delivers an enthusiastic and highly professional service .
We also highly recommend the Dutch hosts,Martin senior and his delightful wife,who work extremely hard to please their guests.Martin is a wealth of knowledge as far as Africa and it's wildlife is concerned and more than happy to engage with you at the bar over a few cool rum and cokes.
The grounds are a delight with many interesting trees providing shady areas,no doubt welcome in the summer months and the pool,although small is something of a novelty.
This lodge is great value for money and is happy to provide a choice of accommodation for every budget.Although slightly off the beaten track if you're used to city life,the short trip along the side of the game reserve and neighbouring lake is well worth it.(we spent a few hours at the lake and enjoyed a wonderful braii whilst observing hippo and pelicans.ask Martin for directions to a lovley spot).
Overall we were thoroughly delighted with all services received at Wildebees,would recommend to friends and family and with any luck will return again very soon.EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: private hideaway with great service.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at this place for two nights and will definitely be back for a longer visit. We were thrilled with the standard of accommodation in relation to the really budget price. Arriving to a private bathroom with hot water and a large airy room in an individual chalet was an extremely pleasant surprise. Fridges were available for all our cold foods we were onward transporting and the extremely accommodating and the charming owner readily gave permission for us to leave later than stated so that we could fit in an extra game drive at the nearby Hluhluwe game reserve. Absolutely excellent but remember it is budget accommodation so don't expect a 5 star holiday resort having said which the staff were wonderfully pleasant and helpful and considerably more efficient than those at some 5 star resorts that spring to mind!

Room Tip: Ask for not near the communal kitchen
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubafan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My partner and I spent 7 nights at Wildebees EcoLodge using it as a base to visit all the other Game Parks in the area plus the St. Lucia Wetland area. We were upgraded to a cottage and it was spacious and comfortable. We had dinner at the lodge each evening and although their was no choice the food was extremely good and plentiful. All the staff at the lodge were very friendly and made us very welcome. We particularly enjoyed the walks around the many trails in the company of the resident dogs Denzil and Morgan. There is lots of wildlife in the grounds and you really do feel close to nature. It was a perfect 'chill out' place and not the place for anyone who enjoys partying. The only issue we did have was the biting mozzies. A mosquito net was provided in the cottage and we doused ourselves with repellent but the insects still managed to make their mark. The fact that our cottage was next to a small pond may have been significant. We didn't get bitten in any other place.
All in all an extremely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is a nice place to stay for every age - we were between age 0 - 67 - baby could sleep in the shadow of the trees, children could play in the pool and in the little forrest setting and adults could relax in our own little "house" or by the bar. Friendly staff and nice and clean - unfortunately most of us had problems with bedbugs... The food is nothing special so it is recommended to use the kitchen (a bit run down) for selfcatering. Good location close to shops, gamedrives and even Sodwana Bay for diving. Good value for money thanks to Gisela our well recommended tour organizer: [--] - for any trips in SA!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaidCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews